The True History Of Lyndie B. Hawkins

The True History Of Lyndie B. Hawkins

4.8 (40 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

***Four starred reviews!*** "A storytelling wonder."--starred review, Kirkus Reviews

A one-of-a-kind voice lights up this witty, heartwarming debut set in 1985 Tennessee about the power of homespun wisdom (even when it's wrong), the clash between appearances and secrets, and the barriers to getting help even when it's needed most.

Lyndie B. Hawkins loves history, research, and getting to the truth no matter what. But when it comes to her family, her knowledge is full of holes. Like, what happened to her father in the Vietnam War? Where does he disappear to for days? And why exactly did they have to move in with her grandparents?

Determined to mold recalcitrant Lyndie into a nice Southern girl even if it kills her, her fusspot grandmother starts with lesson number one: Family=Loyalty=keeping quiet about family secrets. Especially when it comes to Lyndie's daddy.

Then DB, a boy from the local juvenile detention center comes to stay with Lyndie's best friend, Dawn. He's as friendly and open as a puppy. There to shape up his act, he has an optimism that's infectious. But it puts Lyndie in direct opposition to her grandmother who'd rather keep up appearances than get her son the help he needs.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 304 pages
  • 149 x 216 x 31mm | 404g
  • Penguin USA
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0525428453
  • 9780525428459
  • 1,071,652

Review quote

"Readers will lose their hearts to this sassy and aching heroine. Full of Southern toughness and mountain charm, her fierce and funny voice fills the pages with fine storytelling. This hope-filled book is a beautiful picture of broken humanity, a storytelling wonder."--Kirkus Reviews, starred review "Lyndie's narration is frank and funny, but it's her love of research and history that sets her apart."--Booklist, starred review

"Shepherd's crackling debut . . . moves at a quick pace . . . Noteworthy for its strong narrative voice and dramatic character development . . . with unflinching honesty and humor."--Publishers Weekly, starred review

"A heartwarming story about forgiveness, moving forward through life challenges, and becoming your best self. You will love Lyndie's character and be rooting for her . . . It keeps you on the edge of your seat . . . Great for lovers of realistic or historical fiction."--School Library Connection, starred review

"An evocative story of healing and hope."--School Library Journal

"Put aside the other books on your shelf. Read this one. Now. It will pierce your heart in the best possible way and linger there, changing you bit by bit. This is an extraordinary novel that will leave you forever changed, your humanity broadened. Each sentence is a small piece of art."--Donna Gephart, author of Lily and Dunkin and In Your Shoes

"Perfect for fans of Barbara O'Connor, Lyndie's voice leaps off the page, and her spunk, big heart, and dog, Hoopdee, leave you longing for the Smoky Mountains she calls home."--Shannon Hitchcock, author of One True Way and Ruby Lee & Me

"Lyndie B. Hawkins is a crackerjack narrator--her smarts, sass and vulnerability hooked me on page one, and never let me go. This is a bang-up book about being eleven in a fast-changing world, about lies gone sideways, and about the courage it takes to claim and live the truth. Go, Lyndie!"--Sheila Turnage, author of the Newbery Honor book Three Times Lucky

"When was the last time a story broke your heart and made you laugh in the same chapter? A veritable gold mine of perfect words and fine storytelling, The True History of Lyndie B. Hawkins will stay with you long after you close the book."--Augusta Scattergood, author of Glory Be
show more

About Gail Shepherd

Gail Shepherd received her creative M.A. from the University of Florida in poetry. She has collaborated on radio plays, written comic serial magazine stories, and published her own biweekly indie newspaper. She currently works in the K-12 education industry, supporting teachers and schools with training and technology. She is a fourth generation Floridian on her mother's side, and she lives in South Florida now with her little family, two dogs, and an awful lot of mosquitoes. The True History of Lyndie B. Hawkins is her debut novel.
show more

Rating details

40 ratings
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 88% (35)
4 8% (3)
3 2% (1)
2 2% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X