The Summer That Made Us
31%
off

The Summer That Made Us

4.03 (2,960 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Mothers and daughters, sisters and cousins, they lived for summers at the lake house until a tragic accident changed everything. The Summer That Made Us is an unforgettable story about a family learning to accept the past, to forgive and to love each other again.That was then...For the Hempsteads, two sisters who married two brothers and had three daughters each, summers were idyllic. The women would escape the city the moment school was out to gather at the family house on Lake Waseka. The lake was a magical place, a haven where they were happy and carefree. All of their problems drifted away as the days passed in sun-dappled contentment. Until the summer that changed everything.This is now...After an accidental drowning turned the lake house into a site of tragedy and grief, it was closed up. For good. Torn apart, none of the Hempstead women speak of what happened that summer, and relationships between them are uneasy at best to hurtful at worst. But in the face of new challenges, one woman is determined to draw her family together again, and the only way that can happen is to return to the lake and face the truth.Robyn Carr has crafted a beautifully woven story about the complexities of family dynamics and the value of strong female relationships.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 336 pages
  • 130 x 201 x 25mm | 295g
  • English
  • Original ed.
  • 0778330869
  • 9780778330868
  • 684,201

Review quote

"This novel of sisters and secrets has a pleasant setting, a leisurely pace, and a sweet story line for Krista that will please fans of Carr's Virgin River series. Themes of responsibility, forgiveness, and the agony and ecstasy of female relatives will appeal to readers of Debbie Macomber and Susan Wiggs." -Booklist"The summer flies by as old wounds are healed, new alliances are formed, and lives are changed forever... With strong relationship dynamics, juicy secrets, and a heartwarming ending, it's a blissful beach read." -Kirkus Reviews"A layered, well-paced plot and flawed, three-dimensional characters whom readers will care about make this a quick and entertaining read for those who relish contemporary family sagas with strong female characters as well as readers who like their stories tinged with romance." -Library Journal on The Life She Wants"A satisfying reinvention story that handles painful issues with a light and uplifting touch." -Kirkus Reviews on The Life She Wants"Insightfully realized central figures, a strong supporting cast, family issues, and uncommon emotional complexity make this uplifting story a heart-grabber that won't let readers go until the very end.... A rewarding (happy) story that will appeal across the board and might require a hanky or two." -Library Journal, starred review on What We Find"Robyn Carr has done it again... What We Find is complex, inspirational, and well-written. A romance that truly inspires readers as life hits them the hardest." -San Francisco Review Journal"With this tale of the soothing splendor of the land and our vulnerability, Carr sets the bar for contemporary romance. The well-paced plot, engaging and well-defined characters, and an inviting setting make Carr's latest an enhancement not only to the romance shelves but to any fiction collection."-Booklist, starred review, on What We Find"A thought-provoking look at women...and the choices they make." -Kirkus Reviews on Four Friends"Carr's new novel demonstrates that classic women's fiction, illuminating the power of women's friendships, is still alive and well." -Booklist on Four Friends"Well-rounded characters, a plot rich in emotion and humor and one sweet romance make this a great read."-RT Book Reviews on A Summer in Sonoma
show more

Rating details

2,960 ratings
4.03 out of 5 stars
5 34% (1,000)
4 42% (1,245)
3 19% (576)
2 4% (106)
1 1% (33)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X