The Storm Runner
19%
off

The Storm Runner

4.03 (1,679 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A contemporary adventure based on Maya mythology from Rick Riordan Presents!
Zane has always enjoyed exploring the dormant volcano near his home in New Mexico, even though hiking it is challenging. He'd much rather hang out there with his dog, Rosie, than go to middle school, where kids call him Sir Limps a Lot, McGimpster, or Uno--for his one good leg. What Zane doesn't know is that the volcano is a gateway to another world and he is at the center of a powerful prophecy. A new girl at school, Brooks, informs him that he's destined to release an evil god from the ancient Maya relic he is imprisoned in--unless she can find and remove it first. Together they return to the volcano, where all kinds of crazy happens. Brooks turns into a hawk, a demon attacks them in a cave, and Rosie gives her all while trying to protect Zane. When Zane decides to save his dog no matter the cost, he is thrust into an adventure full of surprising discoveries, dangerous secrets, and an all-out war between the gods, one of whom happens to be his father. To survive, Zane will have to become the Storm Runner. But how can he run when he can't even walk well without a cane?
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 448 pages
  • 152 x 219 x 30.48mm | 589.67g
  • Disney Press
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 1368016340
  • 9781368016346
  • 53,725

Review quote

* "Fantastic and villainous creatures from [Maya] folklore combine with clever, realistic, and heartwarming characters. A page-turning and well-written trip into the world of [Maya] mythology, perfect for fans of David Bowles's Garza "Twins" and Rick Riordan's "Percy Jackson" series."--School Library Journal (starred review)
show more

About J. C. Cervantes

New York Times bestselling author J.C. Cervantes (www.jennifercervantes.com) also wrote Tortilla Sun, which was called "a beautiful and engaging debut" by Kirkus, an "imaginative, yet grounded novel" by Publishers Weekly, and "lean and lightly spiced with evocative metaphor" by School Library Journal. Tortilla Sun was a 2010 New Voices pick by the American Booksellers Association and it was named to Bank Street's 2011 Best Book List. Jen is an avid reader, a champion for the underdog, and a believer in magic. She is currently working on a sequel to this book, The Fire Keeper. Follow her on Facebook, Twitter: @jencerv, and Instagram: #authorjcervantes.
show more

Rating details

1,679 ratings
4.03 out of 5 stars
5 33% (561)
4 42% (710)
3 20% (335)
2 4% (59)
1 1% (14)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X