The Silent House
5%
off

The Silent House

3.67 (2,511 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 10-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

**Don't miss the new blockbuster thriller from Nell Pattison: HIDE - coming December 2021! Available to pre-order now...**



If someone was in your house, you'd know ... Wouldn't you?
But the Hunter family are deaf, and don't hear a thing when a shocking crime takes place in the middle of the night. Instead, they wake up to their worst nightmare: the murder of their daughter.


The police call Paige Northwood to the scene to interpret for the witnesses. They're in shock, but Paige senses the Hunters are hiding something.


One by one, people from Paige's community start to fall under suspicion. But who would kill a little girl?


Was it an intruder?


Or was the murderer closer to home?


This mystery will keep you up all night - perfect for fans of The Silent Patient and Cara Hunter.
'Sinister, layered, atmospheric ... I couldn't turn the pages quickly enough' Debbie Howells


'A nail-biting page-turner of a thriller ... The sense of a community isolated, and all the conflicts and tensions that brings, adds satisfying layers of complexity' James Oswald


'Delicate, brutal, impossible to put down. The Silent House is a disquieting thriller' Ross Armstrong


'A unique, chilling, fast-paced read that plunges you into a world of silence that has so much to say' Deborah Masson


'A superb innovation for the crime genre ... a brilliantly terrifying premise and a twisty, gripping tale' Philippa East


Perfect for fans of Alex Pine, Caroline Corcoran and Sue Watson!
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 25mm | 270g
  • AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0008361762
  • 9780008361761
  • 74,060

Review quote

Early readers love The Silent House...
'Sinister, layered, atmospheric ... I couldn't turn the pages quickly enough' Debbie Howells


'A nail-biting page-turner of a thriller ... The sense of a community isolated, and all the conflicts and tensions that brings, adds satisfying layers of complexity' James Oswald


'Delicate, brutal, impossible to put down. The Silent House is a disquieting thriller' Ross Armstrong


'A unique, chilling, fast-paced read that plunges you into a world of silence that has so much to say' Deborah Masson


'A superb innovation for the crime genre . . . a brilliantly terrifying premise and a twisty, gripping tale' Philippa East



'A strong and terrifically terrifying debut'
The Nerd Daily




'Fans of female amateur sleuths will like this one, and the insight into the deaf community gives it a unique slant'
Shots Magazine




'Gives insight into a community that many readers may not be familiar with, incorporating the difficulties faced by members of the deaf community into a cracking narrative. Pattison shows real skill, weaving the story around the characters and their needs'
Up! Magazine



'Crime thriller of the decade' ***** NetGalley Review


'Phenomenal' ***** NetGalley Review


'Utterly enthralling' ***** NetGalley Review


'It will keep you on the edge of your seat' ***** NetGalley Review


'Chilling concept and a stunning read' ***** NetGalley Review


'A brilliantly written book with many twists and turns' ***** NetGalley Review
show more

About Nell Pattison

After studying English at university, Nell Pattison became a teacher and specialised in Deaf education. She has been teaching in the Deaf community for 12 years in both England and Scotland, working with students who use BSL. Nell began losing her hearing in her twenties, but still refuses to wear her hearing aids. She lives in North Lincolnshire with her husband and child. The Silent House is her debut novel.
show more

Rating details

2,511 ratings
3.67 out of 5 stars
5 22% (553)
4 37% (931)
3 29% (739)
2 9% (227)
1 2% (61)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X