The Shadow of What Was Lost
9%
off

The Shadow of What Was Lost : Book One of the Licanius Trilogy

4.15 (10,293 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

'A storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire' Guardian

AS DESTINY CALLS, A JOURNEY BEGINS

It has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them - the Gifted - are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion's Four Tenets, vastly limiting their own powers.

As a young Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden powers of the Augurs, he sets in motion a chain of events that will change everything.

To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian's wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is . . .

And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated, begins to stir.

The Licanius trilogy:
The Shadow of What Was Lost
An Echo of Things to Come
The Light of All That Falls (coming 2019)

'Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters' Boingboing.net

'Will appeal to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding' Fantasy Faction

'Love the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series' Barnes & Noble SF and Fantasy Blog
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Paperback | 736 pages
  • 130 x 200 x 49mm | 499g
  • Orbit
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0356507777
  • 9780356507774
  • 24,422

Looking for beautiful books?

Visit our Beautiful Books page and find lovely books for kids, photography lovers and more. Shop now .

Review Text

Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire GUARDIAN
show more

Review quote

Relentless pace and exciting plot . . . absorbing and impressive -- CULTUREFLY An action-packed nailbiter -- BOOKBAG Definitely a series to watch out for. It has everything you wish in Epic fantasy and a lot more -- THE BOOK PLANK Magic, monsters, prophecies, betrayals and revenge . . . The first novel by James Islington has it all -- THE ELOQUENT PAGE Complex magic, terrifying threats out of legend, political intrigue, and a large cast of characters . . . Fans of doorstop epic fantasy will not be disappointed -- PUBLISHERS WEEKLY Love the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series -- BARNES & NOBLE SF BLOG Incessant plot twists and a relentless pace -- KIRKUS Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters -- BOINGBOING A relentless juggernaut of a book . . . Astoundingly intricate worldbuilding -- DAILY MAIL Action aplenty and an ample spattering of violence . . . This is a whole new world with a fresh fantasy streak -- SCIFINOW A traditional coming-of-age, saving-the-world epic fantasy in the vein of Tad Williams, Raymond E. Feist (and yes, Robert Jordan). But it also has the flavour of something new . . . You'll be left wanting more -- SFX So exciting . . . Will appeal not only to The Wheel of Time readers, but to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding -- FANTASY FACTION Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire -- GUARDIAN
show more

About James Islington

James Islington was born and raised in southern Victoria, Australia. An avid fantasy reader for many years, it was only when he read Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn series that he was finally inspired to write something of his own. He now lives with his wife and daughter on the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria.
show more

Rating details

10,293 ratings
4.15 out of 5 stars
5 40% (4,110)
4 41% (4,235)
3 15% (1,505)
2 3% (341)
1 1% (102)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X