The Shadow of What Was Lost
15%
off

The Shadow of What Was Lost

4.15 (6,606 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

'A storytelling assurance rare for a debut ...Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire' Guardian AS DESTINY CALLS, A JOURNEY BEGINS It has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them - the Gifted - are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion's Four Tenets, vastly limiting their own powers. As a young Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden powers of the Augurs, he sets in motion a chain of events that will change everything. To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian's wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is ...And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated, begins to stir. 'Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters' Boingboing.net 'Will appeal to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding' Fantasy Faction 'Love the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series' Barnes & Noble SF and Fantasy Blogshow more

Product details

  • Paperback | 736 pages
  • 130 x 200 x 49mm | 495g
  • Little, Brown Book Group
  • Orbit
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0356507777
  • 9780356507774
  • 85,716

Review quote

Storytelling assurance rare for a debut ... Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire -- GUARDIAN So exciting ... Will appeal not only to The Wheel of Time readers, but to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding -- FANTASY FACTION A traditional coming-of-age, saving-the-world epic fantasy in the vein of Tad Williams, Raymond E. Feist (and yes, Robert Jordan). But it also has the flavour of something new ... You'll be left wanting more -- SFX Action aplenty and an ample spattering of violence ... This is a whole new world with a fresh fantasy streak -- SCIFINOW A relentless juggernaut of a book ... Astoundingly intricate worldbuilding -- DAILY MAIL Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters -- BOINGBOING Incessant plot twists and a relentless pace -- KIRKUS Love the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series -- BARNES & NOBLE SF BLOG Complex magic, terrifying threats out of legend, political intrigue, and a large cast of characters ... Fans of doorstop epic fantasy will not be disappointed -- PUBLISHERS WEEKLY Magic, monsters, prophecies, betrayals and revenge ... The first novel by James Islington has it all -- THE ELOQUENT PAGE Definitely a series to watch out for. It has everything you wish in Epic fantasy and a lot more -- THE BOOK PLANK An action-packed nailbiter -- BOOKBAG Relentless pace and exciting plot ... absorbing and impressive -- CULTUREFLYshow more

About James Islington

James Islington was born and raised in southern Victoria, Australia. An avid fantasy reader for many years, it was only when he read Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn series that he was finally inspired to write something of his own. He now lives with his wife and daughter on the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria.show more

Review Text

Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire GUARDIANshow more

Rating details

6,606 ratings
4.15 out of 5 stars
5 40% (2,634)
4 41% (2,692)
3 15% (994)
2 3% (223)
1 1% (63)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X