The Secret of a Heart Note
18%
off

The Secret of a Heart Note

3.92 (924 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

From critically acclaimed author Stacey Lee, an evocative novel about a teen aroma-expert who uses her extrasensitive sense of smell to help others fall in love-while protecting her own heart at all costs-perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and E. Lockhart. Sometimes love is right under your nose. As one of only two aromateurs left on the planet, sixteen-year-old Mimosa knows what her future holds: a lifetime of weeding, mixing love elixirs, and matchmaking-all while remaining incurably alone. For Mim, the rules are clear: falling in love would render her nose useless, taking away her one great talent. Still, Mimosa doesn't want to spend her life elbow-deep in soil and begonias. She dreams of a normal high school experience with friends, sports practices, debate club, and even a boyfriend. But when she accidentally gives an elixir to the wrong woman and has to rely on the lovesick woman's son, the school soccer star, to help fix the situation, Mim quickly begins to realize that falling in love isn't always a choice you can make. At once hopeful, funny, and romantic, Stacey Lee's The Secret of a Heart Note is a richly evocative coming-of-age story that gives a fresh perspective on falling in love and finding one's place in the world.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 384 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 31mm | 646g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • KATHERINE TEGEN BOOKS
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062428322
  • 9780062428325
  • 94,296

Review quote

Praise for OUTRUN THE MOON: "Full of beautiful turns of phrase, lessons in Chinese customs and superstitions, and a refreshing protagonist representing intersectional diversity, this is a must-read for followers of historical fiction. Propelled by a feisty and fabulous heroine, Lee's sophomore novel is powerful, evocative, and thought-provoking." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review) Praise for UNDER A PAINTED SKY:"A vivid, nontraditional western...with plenty of twists." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) "Emotionally resonant and not without humor, this impressive debut about survival and connection, resourcefulness and perseverance will keep readers on the very edges of their seats." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "This offers a much needed multicultural look at the Oregon Trail... High drama, tension, romantic longings, and touches of humor will entice historical fiction fans." -- School Library Journal "I didn't know I needed this book until I fell passionately in love with it... Stacey Lee has now become my new favorite author. I'll read anything she writes!" -- Ellen Oh, Founder WeNeedDiverseBooks and author of the PROPHECY series "You're going to love this book. It has heroines that will fill your heart with courage, a plot that will keep your blood rushing, and a love story that will take your breath away." -- Francisco X. Stork, award-winning author of MARCELO IN THE REAL WORLD "Gorgeously imagined, told with wit, insight and characters you grow quickly to love, Stacey Lee brings us a romance adventure of the best order." -- Sherri L. Smith, award-winning author of FLYGIRL and ORLEANS "Under a Painted Sky is a charming read: funny, poignant, and full of heart. Stacey Lee's tale of unconventional romance in the West is sure to win fans for her intrepid heroines and their adventures." -- Elizabeth C. Bunce, author of William C. Morris Award-winning A CURSE DARK AS GOLD "With seasoned confidence, a perfect sense of setting, and gorgeous prose, author Stacey Lee has created one of the most thrilling, compelling, and heartbreaking stories of female friendship and survival." -- Stephanie Keuhn, author of William C. Morris Award-winning CHARM & STRANGE "A sweeping journey into the heart of the west and the glowing souls of two fugitive heroines. A tale so rich, so captivating, so real you'll be shaking sand out of your boots." -- Barbara Stuber, author of William C. Morris Award finalist CROSSING THE TRACKS "With a diverse cast, timeless themes, and an addictive plot, this is the YA western I've been waiting for." -- Erin Bowman, author of the TAKEN trilogy "UNDER A PAINTED SKY is an exciting new journey into the old west, packed with humor, adventure, and enduring friendships." -- J. Anderson Coats, award-winning author of THE WICKED AND THE JUST "UNDER A PAINTED SKY left me speechless. Hopeful. Smiling. Stacey Lee's debut is a powerful tale of loss, adventure, and sisterhood. Completely captivating." -- Jodi Meadows, award winning author of INCARNATE seriesshow more

Rating details

924 ratings
3.92 out of 5 stars
5 29% (268)
4 44% (402)
3 21% (190)
2 5% (43)
1 2% (21)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X