The Secret History of Us
38%
off

The Secret History of Us

3.51 (530 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"Jessi Kirby's books just keep getting better and better, and The Secret History of Us is her best yet. It beautifully touches on all the most important things in life-love, family, friendship, memory, and bacon. I loved it."-Morgan Matson, New York Times bestselling author of The Unexpected EverythingIn this gorgeously written, emotional novel that fans of Sarah Dessen will enjoy, a teenage girl must piece together the parts of her life she doesn't remember after a severe collision leaves her with no memory of the past four years. When Olivia awakes in a hospital bed following a near-fatal car accident, she can't remember how she got there. She figures it's because she was in a coma for a week, but as time goes on, she realizes she's lost more than just the last week of her life-she's lost all memory of events that happened years ago. Gone is any recollection of starting or graduating high school; the prom; or her steady boyfriend Matt. Trying to figure out who she is feels impossible when everyone keeps telling her who she was. As Liv tries to sort out her family and friends' perceptions of her, the one person she hasn't heard enough from is Walker, the guy who saved her the night her car was knocked off that bridge into the bay below. Walker is the hardened boy who's been keeping his distance and the one person that has made Liv feel like her old self...whoever that is. With feelings growing for Walker, tensions rising with Matt, and secrets she can't help but feel are being kept from her, Olivia must find her place in a life she doesn't remember living.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 18mm | 250g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • HarperTeen
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • International ed.
  • 0062672045
  • 9780062672049
  • 176,418

Review quote

"Jessi Kirby's books just keep getting better and better, and The Secret History of Us is her best yet. It beautifully touches on all the most important things in life-love, family, friendship, memory, and bacon. I loved it." -- Morgan Matson, New York Times bestselling author of The Unexpected Everything "What makes [this book] noteable is its hyperfocus on existential crisis rather than romantic plot threads. This book is ultimately about [Kirby's character] finding inner strength to live the life she wants to live instead of the life everyone expects." -- ALA Booklist Kirby skillfully weaves a mysterious plot. This solid, contemporary suspense story will apeal to readers who love Jenny Hubbard, Morgan Matson, or Laurie Halse Anderson. -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)show more

About Jessi Kirby

Jessi Kirby is a writer for young adults whose first book, Moonglass, was named an ABA New Voices Pick. She has also written two other novels-In Honor and Golden. Jessi works as a middle school librarian in Orange County, California, where she lives with her husband and two kids.show more

Rating details

530 ratings
3.51 out of 5 stars
5 14% (75)
4 36% (191)
3 38% (204)
2 10% (51)
1 2% (9)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X