The Roanoke Girls: the Richard & Judy book club pick, and the most addictive thriller of 2017!
18%
off

The Roanoke Girls: the Richard & Judy book club pick, and the most addictive thriller of 2017!

3.74 (10,001 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

'Dark and intense, [with] a compelling twist which will remain with you' L.S. Hilton, author of Maestra. The taboo-breaking thriller of the year, perfect for fans of Emma Cline's The Girls.Beautiful.Rich.Mysterious.Everyone wants to be a Roanoke girl.But you won't when you know the truth. Lane Roanoke is fifteen when she comes to live with her maternal grandparents and fireball cousin, Allegra, at the Roanoke family's rural estate following the suicide of her mother. Over one long, hot summer, Lane experiences the benefits of being one of the rich and beautiful Roanoke girls.But what she doesn't know is being a Roanoke girl carries a terrible legacy: either the girls run, or they die. For there is darkness at the heart of Roanoke, and when Lane discovers its insidious pull, she must make her choice...show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 156 x 234 x 22mm | 380g
  • Hodder & Stoughton General Division
  • Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1473648394
  • 9781473648395
  • 171,411

Review quote

'An emotionally compelling page turner, The Roanoke Girls takes you inside the dark world of a twisted family and one woman's fight to break free from the chains of her own history. This is family intrigue at its very best! -- Wendy Walker, author of All Is Not Forgotten A poised and haunting novel, whose enchanting prose belies its dark and intense subject matter. An evocative modern take on Southern Gothic, with a compelling twist which will remain with you long after the book's last sentence -- L.S. Hilton, author of Maestra I was immediately drawn into The Roanoke Girls, a haunting and riveting look at one family's tangled legacy. You won't stop reading until you've unraveled the darkest of Roanoke's shocking secret -- Laura McHugh, author of The Weight of Bloodshow more

About Amy Engel

Amy Engel is the author of the YA novels THE BOOK OF IVY and THE REVOLUTION OF IVY. She lives in Missouri with her family. THE ROANOKE GIRLS is her first novel for adults.show more

Review Text

I was immediately drawn into The Roanoke Girls , a haunting and riveting look at one family's tangled legacy. You won't stop reading until you've unraveled the darkest of Roanoke's shocking secret Laura McHugh, author of The Weight of Bloodshow more

Rating details

10,001 ratings
3.74 out of 5 stars
5 24% (2,391)
4 40% (3,989)
3 26% (2,559)
2 8% (755)
1 3% (307)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X