The Resolutions
7%
off

The Resolutions

4.23 (30 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A heart-expanding novel about four Latinx teens who make New Year's resolutions for one another-and the whirlwind of a year that follows. Fans of Erika L. Sanchez and Emery Lord will fall for this story of friendship, identity, and the struggle of finding yourself when all you want is to start over.

From hiking trips to four-person birthday parties to never-ending group texts, Jess, Lee, Ryan, and Nora have always been inseparable. But now with senior year on the horizon, they've been growing apart. And so, as always, Jess makes a plan.

Reinstating their usual tradition of making resolutions together on New Year's Eve, Jess adds a new twist: instead of making their own resolutions, the four friends assign them to one another-dares like kiss someone you know is wrong for you, find your calling outside your mom's Puerto Rican restaurant, finally learn Spanish, and say yes to everything.

But as the year unfolds, Jess, Lee, Ryan, and Nora each test the bonds that hold them together. And amid first loves, heartbreaks, and life-changing decisions, beginning again is never as simple as it seems.
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Hardback | 416 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 33mm | 473g
  • KATHERINE TEGEN BOOKS
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062656821
  • 9780062656827

Review quote

"In a novel full of heart, Mia Garcia has captured the tenuous lives of young people with a beautiful examination of friendships. Emotional and honest, The Resolutions confirms Garcia's spot as contemporary YA's exciting new talent." -- Lilliam Rivera, author of The Education of Margot Sanchez "Riveting and heartrending. This celebration of Latinx culture and the power of a community to create healing and growth is recommended as a first purchase." -- School Library Journal (starred review) "[This story] explores heartbreak, family commitments, dreams, friendship, and other familiar adolescent challenges with authentic sensitivity." -- Publishers Weekly "A warm, comforting story of identity and self-discovery." -- ALA Booklist Praise for EVEN IF THE SKY FALLS: "Wonderfully atmospheric writing, a setting to die for, and a whirlwind romance that takes my breath away. Garcia has written a book to fall in love with!" -- Renee Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn "A riveting page-turner about finding your true self in the midst of heartbreak and disaster, Mia Garcia's stunning debut is a reminder of how one night can change everything." -- Elizabeth Eulberg, author of Better Off Friends "A compelling 24-hour romance that's as charged as its New Orleans setting." -- Kirkus Reviews
show more

About Mia Garcia

Mia Garcia was born and raised in San Juan, Puerto Rico, but now lives in New York under a pile of to-be-read books. Mia earned her MFA from the New School. You can find her at www.mgarciabooks.com or on Twitter @MGarciaWrites.
show more

Rating details

30 ratings
4.23 out of 5 stars
5 53% (16)
4 23% (7)
3 17% (5)
2 7% (2)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X