The Renaissance Club

The Renaissance Club

4.42 (42 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$16.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

May Gold, college adjunct, often dreams about the subject of her master's thesis - Gianlorenzo Bernini. In her fantasies she's in his arms, the wildly adored partner of the man who invented the Baroque.

But in reality, May has just landed in Rome with her teaching colleagues and older boyfriend who is paying her way. She yearns to unleash her passion and creative spirit, and when the floor under the gilded dome of St Peter's basilica rocks under her feet, she gets her chance. Walking through the veil that appears, she finds herself in the year 1624, staring straight into Bernini's eyes. Their immediate and powerful attraction grows throughout May's tour of Italy. And as she continues to meet her ethereal partner, even for brief snatches of time, her creativity and confidence blossom. All the doorways to happiness seem blocked for May-all except the shimmering doorway to Bernini's world.

May has to choose: stay in her safe but stagnant existence, or take a risk. Will May's adventure in time ruin her life or lead to a magical new one?
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 276 pages
  • 133 x 203 x 16mm | 318g
  • English
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 1946143421
  • 9781946143426
  • 2,178,400

Review quote

Enchanting, rich and romantic...a poetic journey through the folds of time. In THE RENAISSANCE CLUB, passion, art, and history come together in this captivating tale of one woman's quest to discover her true self and the life she's meant to lead. Rachel Dacus deftly crafts a unique and spellbinding twist to the time-traveling adventure that's perfect for fans of Susanna Kearsley and Diana Gabaldon. -- Kerry Lonsdale, Wall Street Journal Bestselling Author

The Renaissance Club is a beautifully written story about a woman torn between two worlds--the present and the distant past. This time-travel adventure kept me guessing until the end about which world May would choose, and if that choice would be the right one. Highly recommended for lovers of time travel fiction or anyone looking for a compelling story about a woman trying to find happiness. -- Annabelle Costa, Author of The Time Traveler's Boyfriend.

The Renaissance Club shimmers with beauty, poetry, and art. Author Rachel Dacus sweeps her readers away to Italy with her, lifting the senses with the sights, sounds, and tastes of that stunning country; imparting her deep knowledge of Renaissance and Baroque art while immersing the reader in a gorgeously romantic story. This book is time travel at its best! Georgina Young-Ellis, author of The Time Mistress Series
show more

Rating details

42 ratings
4.42 out of 5 stars
5 57% (24)
4 31% (13)
3 10% (4)
2 2% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X