The Rainbow Troops
14%
off

The Rainbow Troops

4.15 (20,448 ratings by Goodreads)
  • Paperback
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from Australia in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The Indonesian record-breaking bestseller, in the tradition of Slumdog Millionaire and Shantaram. Ikal is a student at Muhammadiyah Elementary, on the Indonesian island of Belitong, where graduating from sixth grade is considered a major achievement. His school is under constant threat of closure. In fact, Ikal and his friends - a group called the Rainbow Troops - face threats from every angle- pessimistic, corrupt government officials; greedy corporations hardly distinguishable from the colonialism they've replaced; deepening poverty and crumbling infrastructure; and their own faltering self-confidence. But in the form of two extraordinary teachers, they also have hope, and Ikal's education is an uplifting one, in and out of the classroom. You will cheer for Ikal and his friends as they defy the town's powerful tin miners. Meet his first love - a hand with half-moon fingernails that passes him the chalk his teacher sent him to buy. You will roar in support of Lintang, the class's barefoot maths genius, as he bests the rich company children in an academic challenge. First published in Indonesia, The Rainbow Troops went on to sell over 5 million cop
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 304 pages
  • 156 x 234 x 23mm | 413g
  • Vintage (Australia)
  • Milsons Point, Australia
  • 1742758584
  • 9781742758589
  • 399,978

About Andrea Hirata

Andrea Hirata is an Indonesian writer. He was a fellow of the International Writer s Program at the University of Iowa, 2010. His first novel, The Rainbow Troops (Laskar Pelangi in Indonesia), sold more than 5 million copies, making him the country s best-selling writer in history. The Rainbow Troops is published or forthcoming in 23 countries and counting. An Indonesian film adaptation of The Rainbow Troops went on to become the highest ever grossing film in the country. Andrea Hirata's work has been adapted and performed by the CityDance Ensemble, Washington, DC, and his short fiction has appeared in the Washington Square Review. Hirata has written three sequels to The Rainbow Troops- Sang Pemimpi (The Dreamer), Edensor and Maryama Karpov. He lives in Indonesia.
show more

Review quote

"Hirata's writing is as brilliant, beautiful, remarkable, and engrossing as the characters and the world he brings us. If you've ever been afraid to dream, or disbelieved in the true power of learning, read "The Rainbow Troops "and you'll be changed by the two guardians and their small number of students, whose intelligence and vibrancy will intoxicate you. This is a treasure from one of the largest Muslim societies in the world." --Ishmael Beah, author of "A Long Way Gone"""The Rainbow Troops "is a charming, funny, moving story about growing up and going to school on the island of Belitong in Indonesia. The Rainbow Troops are students in a poor, beleaguered village school, run by a pair of courageous and generous teachers who protect and champion their tiny class. I loved reading these stories about brave, smart, resourceful kids, set in a magical landscape that includes clouds, crocodiles, and shamans, as well as tin mining, politics, and regional school competitions." --Roxana Robinson, author of "Cost"
show more

Rating details

20,448 ratings
4.15 out of 5 stars
5 43% (8,807)
4 36% (7,334)
3 16% (3,287)
2 3% (682)
1 2% (338)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X