The Racehorse Who Wouldn't Gallop

The Racehorse Who Wouldn't Gallop

4.23 (119 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?


'A heart-warming story with a great girl-power message' - Jacqueline WilsonCharlie Bass is a horse-mad ten-year-old who dreams of owning her own pony. So when she accidentally manages to buy a racehorse, Charlie is thrilled.The horse she buys, Noble Warrior, looks the part: strong, fit and healthy. There's just one problem - he won't gallop. In fact, he won't even leave his stable without his best friend, a naughty palomino pony called Percy. Charlie is convinced that Noble Warrior has what it takes to be a champion. But can she prove it? Derby Day is fast approaching and only a win can save the family farm from being repossessed.The stakes couldn't be higher for the Basses. Can Charlie turn her chaotic family into a top training team? Can Noble Warrior overcome his nerves? Will Percy the pony ever stop farting?Find out in this classic, funny animal story, perfect for fans of Dick King-Smith and Gerald Durrell.
show more

Product details

  • 0-5
  • Hardback | 256 pages
  • 138 x 204 x 26mm | 347g
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • UK ed.
  • w. ills.
  • 0141362901
  • 9780141362908
  • 32,647

About Clare Balding

When she was young, Clare Balding thought she was a dog. Disappointed to discover she was only human, she did her best to spend every waking hour with dogs and ponies. She could ride before she could walk and, growing up surrounded by racehorses trained by her father, she dreamt of winning the Grand National or riding for Great Britain at the Olympics.Those dreams never came true but the consolation prize hasn't been bad. As a television and radio presenter, Clare has worked at six Olympic Games, the highlight being London 2012, as well as the Winter Olympics, Paralympics, Commonwealth Games, the Grand National, Royal Ascot, Wimbledon and the Ryder Cup.Clare lives in London with her wife, Alice, and their very naughty dog, Archie.
show more

Review quote

A heart-warming story with a great girl-power message * Jacqueline Wilson *
show more

Review Text

A heart-warming story with a great girl-power message Jacqueline Wilson
show more

Rating details

119 ratings
4.23 out of 5 stars
5 48% (57)
4 34% (41)
3 13% (15)
2 3% (4)
1 2% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X