The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook
24%
off

The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook : a history of the Renaissance mathematics that birthed imaginary numbers, probability, and the new physics of the universe

3.77 (92 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A Daily Telegraph book of the year.



A book of science like no other, about a scientist like no other.



This is a landmark in science writing. It resurrects from the vaults of neglect the polymath Jerome Cardano, a Milanese of the sixteenth century. Who is he? A gambler and blasphemer, inventor and chancer, plagued by demons and anxieties, astrologer to kings, emperors and popes. This stubborn and unworldly man was the son of a lawyer and a brothel keeper, but also a gifted physician and the unacknowledged discoverer of the mathematical foundations of quantum physics. That is the argument of this charming and intoxicatingly clever book, which is truly original in its style, and in the manner of the modernists embodies in its very form its theories about the world.



The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook is a science book with the panache of a novel, for readers of Carlo Rovelli or Umberto Eco. It is a work of and about genius.
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Hardback | 256 pages
  • 148 x 210 x 22mm | 405g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1911344404
  • 9781911344407
  • 154,519

Black Friday Deals Week

Check out this week's discounts for Black Friday Deals Week. Shop now .

Review quote

`The premise of Michael Brooks's book linking Cardano and quantum physics is bonkers but curiously effective.' * New Statesman * `This unconventional biography reads like a playful, postmodern novel full of ambition, intrigue, tragedy and an amazing array of scientific discoveries ... a risky conceit but Brooks pulls it off magnificently.' * The Sydney Morning Herald * `[A] fascinating and accessible primer on some of the meatiest and most controversial ideas in modern science ... Brooks is known for his ability to explain difficult science to non-specialist audiences, and his passionate interest in quantum physics and history animates every page of this engrossing book.' * The Saturday Paper * `Michael Brooks is a magician in the old sense - both scientist and artist. He uses both disciplines to create a compelling, fresh look at the quantum world. A fantastic read for students of reality.' -- Gwyneth Lewis, author of Sunbathing in the Rain `Brooks communicates difficult stuff in an amiable and lucid manner.' * New Statesman * `A beautifully novelistic fusion of physics and biography.' * The Daily Telegraph * `Jerome Cardano is my all-time favourite mathematical rogue. Michael Brooks has brought him vividly to life in entertaining, informative, and highly original conversations about frontier physics, held across a gulf of centuries. A daring and successful experiment and a new kind of popular science writing.' -- Ian Stewart `Michael Brooks is the canniest science writer around. He writes, above all, with attitude.' * The Independent * `[Brooks's] history of [quantum theory] and his sketches of its principals - Einstein, Schro dinger, Bohr - are swift and precise, but he really shines in his lucid discussions of theory and experiment.' * Financial Times * `Brooks is an exemplary science writer. His explanations have the sort of clarity you often yearn for when you read about science, but rarely find.' * The Daily Telegraph * `4 stars ... Cardano turns out to be an intriguing figure, deserving of Brooks' obsession ... [they] make for very entertaining and illuminating companions.' * The Mail on Sunday * `An enthralling biography of the polymath Jerome Cardano, which doubles as a primer on the strangeness of quantum physics ... This vivid book offers belated recompense to a gambler who lost more than he won in an eventful and turbulent life.' * The Sunday Times * `This beautifully written book is a kind of experimental scientific biography that mashes up science with what seems to be non-science, the better to explore the boundaries of what we still don't know ... a quite superb book.' * The Guardian *
show more

About Michael Brooks

Michael Brooks, who holds a PhD in quantum physics, is an author, journalist, and broadcaster. A consultant at New Scientist, he also writes regularly for New Statesman. Brooks is the author of At The Edge of Uncertainty, The Secret Anarchy of Science, and the bestselling non-fiction title 13 Things That Don't Make Sense. His writing has appeared in The Guardian, The Independent, The Observer, THE, The Philadelphia Inquirer, and many magazines. He has lectured at, amongst others, NYU, the American Museum of Natural History, and the University of Cambridge.
show more

Rating details

92 ratings
3.77 out of 5 stars
5 16% (15)
4 52% (48)
3 25% (23)
2 5% (5)
1 1% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X