The Prey of Gods
30%
off

The Prey of Gods

4.34 (29 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

*A Wall Stree Journal "Summer Reading: One expert. One book" pick for 2017!*The RT Book Reviews "June 2017: Seal of Excellence" pick!*A B&N Sci Fi and Fantasy Blog "Best Science Fiction & Fantasy Books of 2017 So Far" pick! From a new voice in the tradition of Lauren Beukes, Ian McDonald, and Nnedi Okorafor comes The Prey of Gods, a fantastic, boundary-challenging tale, set in a South African locale both familiar and yet utterly new, which braids elements of science fiction, fantasy, horror, and dark humor. In South Africa, the future looks promising. Personal robots are making life easier for the working class. The government is harnessing renewable energy to provide infrastructure for the poor. And in the bustling coastal town of Port Elizabeth, the economy is booming thanks to the genetic engineering industry which has found a welcome home there. Yes-the days to come are looking very good for South Africans. That is, if they can survive the present challenges:A new hallucinogenic drug sweeping the country . . .An emerging AI uprising . . .And an ancient demigoddess hellbent on regaining her former status by preying on the blood and sweat (but mostly blood) of every human she encounters.It's up to a young Zulu girl powerful enough to destroy her entire township, a queer teen plagued with the ability to control minds, a pop diva with serious daddy issues, and a politician with even more serious mommy issues to band together to ensure there's a future left to worry about.Fun and fantastic, Nicky Drayden takes her brilliance as a short story writer and weaves together an elaborate tale that will capture your heart . . . even as one particular demigoddess threatens to rip it out.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 135 x 203 x 23mm | 277g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • Harper Voyager
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062493035
  • 9780062493033
  • 95,163

Review quote

"Fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Lauren Beukes and Neil Gaiman better add The Prey of Gods to their reading lists! This addicting new novel combines all the best elements of science fiction and fantasy" -- RT Book Reviews (June 2017 Seal of Excellence -- Best of the Month) "This dense and imaginative debut is [...] a book like no other, with a diverse cast that crosses the spectrum of genders and races, and a new idea (or four) in every chapter." -- B&N Sci Fi and Fantasy Blog (The Best Science Fiction & Fantasy Books of 2017 So Far) "You'll need to clear your schedule as soon as you get your hands on a copy of Drayden's debut novel!...Drayden has certainly made herself an author to watch out for." -- Romantic Times, 4 1/2 stars (Top Pick!) "Prey of Gods delivers on every promise in beautifully unexpected ways that leave you breathless, a little dizzy, and wanting more...Exquisite, fast-paced, and excellent fun." -- Fran Wilde, award-winning author of Updraft, Cloudbound, and Horizon "Drayden has knocked it out of the park with this novel. . . . an excellent piece of fiction that is levels above any of the summer reads coming out." -- New York Journal of Books "Ancient gods, gene-tech, and gripping action - I love so much about this book." -- Cat Rambo, author of Beasts of Tabat and Neither Here Nor There "The Prey of Gods is an ambitious blend of folklore, bioengineering, and science fiction... With luck, readers will remember Drayden's novel when nomination season rolls around." -- Steven Silver -- SFSiteshow more

Rating details

29 ratings
4.34 out of 5 stars
5 62% (18)
4 17% (5)
3 14% (4)
2 7% (2)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X