The Perfect Stranger
24%
off

The Perfect Stranger

By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

In the masterful follow-up to the runaway hit All the Missing Girls-a "fiendishly plotted thriller" (Publishers Weekly)-a journalist sets out to find a missing friend, a friend who may never have existed at all. Confronted by a restraining order and the threat of a lawsuit, failed journalist Leah Stevens needs to get out of Boston when she runs into an old friend, Emmy Grey, who has just left a troubled relationship. Emmy proposes they move to rural Pennsylvania, where Leah can get a teaching position and both women can start again. But their new start is threatened when a woman with an eerie resemblance to Leah is assaulted by the lake, and Emmy disappears days later. Determined to find Emmy, Leah cooperates with Kyle Donovan, a handsome young police officer on the case. As they investigate her friend's life for clues, Leah begins to wonder: did she ever really know Emmy at all? With no friends, family, or a digital footprint, the police begin to suspect that there is no Emmy Grey. Soon Leah's credibility is at stake, and she is forced to revisit her past: the article that ruined her career. To save herself, Leah must uncover the truth about Emmy Grey-and along the way, confront her old demons, find out who she can really trust, and clear her own name. Everyone in this rural Pennsylvanian town has something to hide-including Leah herself. How do you uncover the truth when you are busy hiding your own?show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 337 pages
  • 149 x 226 x 30mm | 377g
  • Simon + Schuster Inc.
  • English
  • 1501166891
  • 9781501166891
  • 425,750

Review Text

Praise for THE PERFECT STRANGER "Miranda's eerie suspense thriller...smartly examines the slippery theme of personal identity. In a world where identities are regularly lost, stolen or sacrificed for reasons innocent and otherwise, it's not enough to wonder where Emmy has gone. We need to know who she is if she is who she says she is--and if she exists at all." -New York Times Book Review "YA author ¬Miranda, who moved into the adult market with All the Missing Girls, proves she isn't a one-hit wonder with this exciting thriller. Its twisty tale with many layers-a little romance, great writing, and an awesome storyline-will keep psychological suspense fans turning the pages." -Library Journal "Solid plot...an entertaining read." -Kirkus Reviews "An excellent second novel of psychological suspense...Highly recommended for fans of Alafair Burke, Gillian Flynn, and Lisa Lutz, and for all readers who like their female characters clever and resourceful, even when their best friends become their worst nightmares." -Booklist "Fans of Gillian Flynn, Chevy Stevens, and Jennifer McMahon will devour this relentlessly paced and deftly plotted thriller...An irresistible and riveting page-turner, Miranda weaves several mysteries together, leading to the intricate climax. The story moves at a feverish, unfaltering pace, keeping readers just as perplexed as the characters." -Publishers Weekly "Rivals her debut adult novel, "All the Missing Girls."...This book will keep you on the edge of your seat." -Virginian Pilot "What is excellent, even template-worthy, about The Perfect Stranger is the pace of information...At the heart of this splendidly written story though is the question of trust and friendship and how each is implied in the other." -January Magazine "The distinct and well-defined characters add to the suspense, complete with twists and turns, and will make the reader wonder." -New York Journal of Books "The Perfect Stranger" is a page-turner...This is not a book that lingers; it quickly hurdles its readers to its thrilling final moments...Miranda's descriptions, character development and story captivate in what can only be described as the beginning of a bright future for the young adult thriller author." -Deseret News "Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will blow through this new thriller, a follow-up to Miranda's best-seller All the Missing Girls." -PureWow Praise for ALL THE MISSING GIRLS A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A New York Times Book Review "Editors' Choice" "This thriller's all of your fav page-turners (think: Luckiest Girl Alive, The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl) rolled into one." -theSkimm "Both [Gillian] Flynn's and Miranda's main characters also reclaim the right of female characters to be more than victim or femme fatale... All the Missing Girls is set to become one of the best books of 2016." -Los Angeles Review of Books "Extremely interesting...a novel that will probably be called Hitchcockian." -The New York Times Book Review "Are you paying attention? You'll need to be; this thriller will test your brain with its reverse chronological structure, and it's a page-turner to boot." -ELLE "Intricately plotted...Ms. Miranda brings heightened suspense and a twist to this familiar scenario by telling the story, which unfolds over 15 days, in reverse chronological order." -The New York Times "Fast-paced and frightening, All the Missing Girls will teach you why it's dangerous to go into the woods alone at night." -Refinery29 "All the Missing Girls is the archetypal murder mystery, the kind it seems like everyone has been hungry for since Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl and Paula Hawkins's Girl on a Train." -Cosmopolitan.com "A new spin on a classic "missing person" thriller, All the Missing Girls is the perfect read for thriller fans." -Bustle.com "A twisty, compulsive read--I loved it." -Ruth Ware, author of THE WOMAN IN CABIN 10 "show more