The Other, Better Me
8%
off

The Other, Better Me

3.8 (15 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

From the critically acclaimed author of Mascot comes this heartfelt novel, perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Cammie McGovern, about a girl searching for the meaning of family.

Lola and Momma have always been a team of two. It hasn't always been easy for Lola, being one of the only kids she knows with just one parent around. And lately she's been feeling incomplete, like there's a part of herself that she can't know until she knows her dad.

But what will happen--to Lola, to Momma, to their team of two--if she finds him?
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 272 pages
  • 150 x 220 x 25mm | 354g
  • HarperCollins
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062835653
  • 9780062835659

Review quote

"Noah's dilemma is universal: the struggle to rebuild identity when what once defined us no longer exists. Highlights the challenges of adapting to puberty and sudden disability at the same time."--Kirkus Reviews "This action-packed, humorous story contains well-developed, dynamic characters who are thoughtful and relatable."--School Library Journal "It is heartening to see young characters who don't hesitate at their differences or care what other people think. As Noah comes to terms with his life-changing accident in this refreshingly fastpaced novel, readers will have an easy time cheering him on as he moves toward recovery."--Booklist "The comedy balances accessibly with Noah's grief, and readers will appreciate his return to the field."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "The characters are well drawn and believable. Cheerful Lola's refreshing."--Kirkus Reviews "Lola is a strong, grounded character who might be temporarily shaken by fears or unhappiness but finds her equilibrium with the help of her extended, intergenerational network of friends. Her involving first-person narrative reveals insecurities known to many young readers and offers insights into the meaning of family."--ALA Booklist "John brings the protagonist's hometown to life with an array of well-developed secondary characters. Lola discovers the power of using her voice and, with the help of her community and friends, learns that family is the people who are there no matter what."--Publishers Weekly "The book grapples sensitively with the concept of individual versus familial identity and presents it in a heartfelt manner. A winner for its genuine take on coming of age that will speak to readers wondering about an absent parent or just figuring out who they are."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "Lola has strong, positive peer friendships that set a good example of inclusion. Readers will appreciate John's willingness to tackle big topics and may relate to Lola's frustrations with growing up."--School Library Journal "Mascot is the kind of book that makes me want to dress up in a costume and loudly tell the world about it."--Obert Skye, bestselling author of the Leven Thumps series "Wonderful. Poignant. Beautifully written. Perfect voice. Do not miss this book. Mascot is a masterpiece."--Roland Smith, New York Times bestselling author of Peak, Zach's Lie, and Cryptid Hunters PRAISE FOR Mascot "The strength and beauty of this novel lie in the ways in which a community gathers around Noah. You'll bawl at the ending, because it is so very real."--New York Times Book Review
show more

About Antony John

Antony John was born in England and raised on a balanced diet of fish and chips and bizarre British comedies. To annoy his parents, he studied classical music at university. Now he writes books instead of music so he can wear sweatpants all day. He lives in St. Louis with his family, who think he's weird for not liking chocolate. They might be right. Visit him online at www.antonyjohn.net.
show more

Rating details

15 ratings
3.8 out of 5 stars
5 20% (3)
4 40% (6)
3 40% (6)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X