The Ones We're Meant to Find

The Ones We're Meant to Find

3.8 (3,190 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

A New York Times Bestseller
An Indie Bestseller

Perfect for fans of Marie Lu and E. Lockhart, The Ones We're Meant to Find is a gripping and heartfelt YA sci-fi with mind-blowing twists. Set in a climate-ravaged future, Joan He's beautifully written novel follows the story of two sisters, separated by an ocean, desperately trying to find each other.

Cee has been trapped on an abandoned island for three years without any recollection of how she arrived, or memories from her life prior. All she knows is that somewhere out there, beyond the horizon, she has a sister named Kay, and it's up to Cee to cross the ocean and find her.

In a world apart, 16-year-old STEM prodigy Kasey Mizuhara lives in an eco-city built for people who protected the planet?and now need protecting from it. With natural disasters on the rise due to climate change, eco-cities provide clean air, water, and shelter. Their residents, in exchange, must spend at least a third of their time in stasis pods, conducting business virtually whenever possible to reduce their environmental footprint. While Kasey, an introvert and loner, doesn't mind the lifestyle, her sister Celia hated it. Popular and lovable, Celia much preferred the outside world. But no one could have predicted that Celia would take a boat out to sea, never to return.

Now it's been three months since Celia's disappearance, and Kasey has given up hope. Logic says that her sister must be dead. But nevertheless, she decides to retrace Celia's last steps. Where they'll lead her, she does not know. Her sister was full of secrets. But Kasey has a secret of her own.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 384 pages
  • 140 x 213 x 36mm | 431g
  • New York
  • English
  • 1250258561
  • 9781250258564
  • 5,851

Review quote

A New York Times Bestseller
An Indie Bestseller

I fell in love... Joan He's words will stay with you long after the final page. - Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Skyhunter

A strange, clever, and startlingly original world. Emily Suvada, author of This Mortal Coil

This is sci-fi at its best: floating cities, kindness and desert islands! Lauren James, author of The Reckless Afterlife of Harriet Stoker

An intricate, well-paced rumination on human nature, choice, and consequence. - Publishers Weekly, starred review

Exhilarating and heartbreaking... This fast-paced sf tale is sure to linger. - Booklist

A stunning and compelling novel full of twists and an emotional pull that will make readers want to finish it in one go. - BuzzFeed

An intriguing foray into a devastating future--and yet one where hope abides. - Kirkus

Mind-bending. -Common Sense Media

An instant bestseller, and with its twisty sci-fi plot ... it's not hard to see why. - Country Living, AAPI Month Recs

One of the most twisty and engaging page-turner YAs you'll read this year. -Culturess

A gorgeous cover heralds this story of sisterly love and environmental disaster. -Den of Geek, May Roundup

A twisty young adult novel in the vein of E. Lockhart's critically acclaimed We Were Liars. -GMA.com, AAPI Month Recs

Tender, heart-wrenching and frightening, this one will stay with you. -Ms. Magazine, May Roundup

Stunning. -Nerdist

Explores the pressing question of who deserves to survive in a world we are destroying. -NPR Books

Breathtaking. -PopSugar, Best YA Books of May

Sharp, devastating, and brimming with invigorating questions. -TOR.com, Review

At turns whimsical and gut-wrenching... He grafts deep moral and ethical questions to a page-turning premise, making this sci-fi standalone an excellent book club selection. - School Library Journal

A melancholy, heartbreaking story of a young woman who loved her sister enough to survive years of horrors in order to get back to her... It's painful stuff, beautifully written, and He gives that suffering the space it deserves in this reflective novel. - The Bulletin for the Center of Children's Books (BCCB), recommended
show more

About Joan He

Joan He was born and raised in Philadelphia but still will, on occasion, lose her way. At a young age, she received classical instruction in oil painting before discovering that stories were her favorite kind of art. She studied psychology and Chinese history at the University of Pennsylvania and currently writes from a desk overlooking the city waterfront. She is the author of Descendant of the Crane, her young adult debut novel.
show more

Rating details

3,190 ratings
3.8 out of 5 stars
5 28% (890)
4 36% (1,154)
3 25% (811)
2 9% (279)
1 2% (56)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X