The Nothing Man

The Nothing Man

4.23 (5,028 ratings by Goodreads)

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

* * THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER * *
_______________________________

I was the girl who survived the Nothing Man.
Now I am the woman who is going to catch him...

You've just read the opening pages of The Nothing Man, the true crime memoir Eve Black has written about her obsessive search for the man who killed her family nearly two decades ago.

Supermarket security guard Jim Doyle is reading it too, and with each turn of the page his rage grows. Because Jim was - is - the Nothing Man.

The more Jim reads, the more he realises how dangerously close Eve is getting to the truth. He knows she won't give up until she finds him. He has no choice but to stop her first...
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 352 pages
  • 162 x 240 x 33mm | 573g
  • Corvus
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Main
  • 1838951067
  • 9781838951061
  • 41,407

Review quote

Impressive ... skilfully executed ... The Nothing Man is a compelling and considered crime thriller. More than just fodder for crime fiction fans, it is an astute examination of our problematic modern obsession with serial killers, and the importance of truth as well as thrills. * Sunday Times (Ireland) * A compelling and clever subversion of the true crime genre ... Ryan Howard ramps up the suspense in masterful fashion. * Irish Examiner * A high-concept, fast-paced thriller ... whip-smart and chilling -- Hazel Gaynor * Irish Independent * A sophisticated and intelligent novel ... steadily ratchets up the suspense * Canberra Weekly * A real cracker. Hands down the best crime novel I've read this year. Wonderfully clever and multi-layered. * Cara Hunter * Brilliant! Massively gripping handling of a unique high-concept idea. -- Sophie Hannah Genuine edge-of-your-seat moments -- Stuart MacBride Riveting from beginning to end. Whipsmart, thrilling and utterly compelling * Liz Nugent * Gripping, beautifully constructed and very original * Sinead Crowley, RTE Books of the Year * Pitting the current obsession with the true-crime genre against a more traditional psychological suspense is the genius at the heart of the novel. Well-paced and intelligent, a painstakingly crafted thriller that deserves to be a huge hit. * Irish Independent * A deftly blended composite of the serial killer, psychological thriller and true crime narratives, The Nothing Man is a compelling novel that brilliantly deconstructs the genres cliches of the charming sociopath. * Irish Times * The queen of high-concept crime fiction strikes again: this is the first novel I've read that really captures the chills and twists of the true crime that obsesses us. Catherine Ryan Howard has always been thrillingly good at what she does but she's just getting better and better with every book... I was utterly wowed. * Jane Casey * An unputdownable thriller that's not afraid to explore the darkest impulses of humanity. It's also a compassionate study of grief and guilt. I dare you to read it on your own, in the dark. -- Erin Kelly I stormed through The Nothing Man and loved it. Such a very clever idea - from concept to execution - I can't think of another book like it. Tremendously astute and moving -- Sarah Hilary Expertly crafted - storytelling at its best -- Patricia Gibney I was truly blown away and couldn't read it fast enough. I can't shower it with enough praise. Terrifying, brilliantly plotted and extremely satisfying -- Jo Spain The Nothing Man is the most original and chilling thriller I've read in a long time, and is perfect for fans of Serial and The Fall. * Mark Edwards * Exceptional. Truly chilling and devastating. A must-read * Caz Frear * A book to steal your waking hours and haunt your sleeping ones. Chilling and brilliant * Cass Green * Utterly compelling, completely original, The Nothing Man will be the standout novel for 2020. This is a book you won't forget as Catherine Ryan Howard brings crime writing to a new level. -- Sam Blake A fiendishly clever psychological thriller ... Howard uses serial killer tropes in original and surprising ways in this tour de force. * Publishers Weekly * Gripping, beautifully written, and genuinely chilling, The Nothing Man had me from page one. Simply stellar. -- Meg Gardiner Ryan Howard is a gift to crime writing. * Liz Nugent on Catherine Ryan Howard *
show more

About Catherine Ryan Howard

Catherine Ryan Howard's debut novel Distress Signals was published by Corvus in 2016 while she was studying English literature at Trinity College Dublin. It went on to be shortlisted for both the Irish Crime Novel of the Year and the CWA John Creasey/New Blood Dagger. Her second novel, The Liar's Girl, was published to critical acclaim in 2018 and was a finalist for the Mystery Writers of America Edgar Award for Best Novel 2019. That same year, Rewind was shortlisted for the Irish Crime Novel of the Year and was an Irish Times bestseller. She is currently based in Dublin.
show more

Rating details

5,028 ratings
4.23 out of 5 stars
5 43% (2,168)
4 40% (2,012)
3 14% (689)
2 3% (131)
1 1% (28)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X