The Night Visitor
30%
off

The Night Visitor

4.22 (63 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

'Horribly, horribly compulsive. Brilliant' Fiona Barton How far would you go to save your reputation? The stunning new noir thriller from the author of the bestselling The Missing One and The Other Child. Perfect for fans of I Let You Go and Lie With Me. Professor Olivia Sweetman has worked hard to achieve the life she loves, with a high-flying career as a TV presenter and historian, three children and a talented husband. But as she stands before a crowd at the launch of her new bestseller she can barely pretend to smile. Her life has spiralled into deceit and if the truth comes out, she will lose everything. Only one person knows what Olivia has done. Vivian Tester is the socially awkward sixty-year-old housekeeper of a Sussex manor who found the Victorian diary on which Olivia's book is based. She has now become Olivia's unofficial research assistant. And Vivian has secrets of her own. As events move between London, Sussex and the idyllic South of France, the relationship between these two women grows more entangled and complex. Then a bizarre act of violence changes everything.The Night Visitor is a compelling exploration of ambition, morality and deception that asks the question: how far would you go to save your reputation? 'Such a sophisticated, layered read, I absolutely revelled in it' Clare Mackintoshshow more

Product details

  • Hardback | 368 pages
  • 162 x 240 x 35mm | 608g
  • Quercus Publishing
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1786482045
  • 9781786482044
  • 7,068

Review quote

Such a sophisticated, layered read, I absolutely revelled in it. A wonderful, wonderful book. The plotting is superb but the real triumph is the characterisation. The moment I finished, I wanted to read it all over again Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go Elegant, clever, beautifully written. Lucy Atkins is, quite frankly, a genius Joanna Cannon Horribly, horribly compulsive. Brilliant Fiona Barton Thrillingly creepy and darkly funny, The Night Visitor set me racing through the chapters with its brilliant plotting and characters that crackle off the page. A "cannot tear yourself away" novel Kate Hamer, author of The Girl in the Red Coat It's wonderfully creepy, in that clever way that is tied in with character, as much as plot and setting. And the beetle metaphor is just ingenious Sabine Durrant, author of Lie With Me One of the most vivid, memorable and menacing characters I've ever read ... Dark, tense and menacing, I was quickly drawn into the story and couldn't put it down. Readers who enjoyed Notes on a Scandal by Zoe Heller will adore it CL Taylor, author of The Lie It put me in mind of Misery, and Rebecca. Splendidly tense, creepy and enjoyable Sarah Hilary The tension is immediate and unrelenting; the sense of unease palpable. Deceptive on every level, this is a gripping, Rendellesque read Mick Herron, author of Spook Street Crackles with undercurrents of mistrust and menace. Tense, atmospheric and beautifully written, this unnerving tale of ambition and revenge held me captive until the last page. Brilliant Amanda Jennings Beautifully crafted, unsettling and utterly unputdownable, The Night Visitor explores what happens when we take someone else's story and make it our own Nuala Ellwood, author of My Sister's Bones I read this book in one sitting. A tense psychological thriller which explores authenticity, fame, and lies and the depths you might sink to in order to protect your reputation. A page-turner that keeps you gripped from the very first page Psychologies The Night Visitor is an addictive and intricately plotted page-turner. I devoured it and I loved it Hannah Beckermann, author and journalist It's clever, complex and compelling and grips right up to that completely unexpected twist. A chilling psychological thriller with beetles! Fanny Blake, author Elegantly written with a rollercoaster of twists and turns, The Night Visitor has creepy echoes of Zoe Heller's Notes on a Scandal. I read it in two sittings Elizabeth Heathcote, author of Undertowshow more

About Lucy Atkins

Lucy Atkins is an award-winning feature journalist and author, as well as a Sunday Times book critic. She has written for many newspapers, including the Guardian, The Times, The Sunday Times, and the Telegraph, as well as magazines such as Psychologies, Red, Woman and Home and Grazia. She lives in Oxford.show more

Review Text

Such a sophisticated, layered read, I absolutely revelled in it. A wonderful, wonderful book. The plotting is superb but the real triumph is the characterisation. The moment I finished, I wanted to read it all over again Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Goshow more

Rating details

63 ratings
4.22 out of 5 stars
5 43% (27)
4 43% (27)
3 10% (6)
2 3% (2)
1 2% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X