The Memory Book
33%
off

The Memory Book

4.07 (3,257 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Fans of All the Bright Places and The Fault in Our Stars will fall head-over-heels for this wonderfully original portrait of love and loss.Samantha McCoy has it all mapped out. First she's going to win the national debating championship, then she's going to move to New York and become a human rights lawyer.But when Sam discovers that a rare disease is going to take away her memory, the future she'd planned so perfectly is derailed before its started. Realising that her life won't wait to be lived, Sam sets out on a summer of firsts. The first party. The first rebellion. The first friendship. The last love.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 131 x 198 x 19mm | 252g
  • Hachette Children's Group
  • Quercus Children's Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1784299243
  • 9781784299248
  • 52,706

Review quote

I will confess to feeling fairly resistant to another addition to the YA illness genre but I was won over by this powerful, believe, bittersweet and emotional novel. This is recommended for older teens who enjoy contemporary YA novels that mingle self-discovery, humour and powerful emotion. * The School Librarian * A deeply affecting novel full of straight-talking, sardonic humour. Ambitious, high achieving, socially awkward Sammie has just been diagnosed with Niemann-Pick, a disease that will gradually rob her memory before killing her. But Sammie is determined to fight ... With assured character development and a clear eye for realistic detail, Avery steers around the cliches of "sicklit" to create an original, memorable YA heartbreaker, with a complex, interwoven romance * The Guardian * Sam is a great central character. She's so driven and determined to succeed that she has ended up quite isolated....Part of Sam's Niemann Pick journey is coming to terms with this and mending some fences. So throughout the book, she blossoms as she fades and it's really tremendously touching...The format is clever: because it's Sam's journal and Sam's memory is disappearing, it's clear that a great deal is happening that we don't get to read about, only infer. Avery handles with this great delicacy and grace and this first person view of things makes the book genuinely moving without ever succumbing to the saccharine * The Bookbag * A heart-rending and engrossing story. Excellent * Inis * In Sammie McCoy, Avery has created a character that completely vibrates with energy. And Sammie's so wicked smart, you almost believe she will overcome everything. But that's not what this book's about. At some point possibility ceases to matter and Avery shows us to love all we already have. Such a moving read. -- Geoff Herbach, author of STUPID FAST This book will open your heart and very possibly break it. Fierce Sammie McCoy is an unforgettable heroine, and as soon as I closed this book, I started to miss her. I still do. -- Emily Raymond, co-author of FIRST LOVE with James Patterson A story of self discovery that's hard to put down. * BOOKLIST * A love story that will leave many readers in tears. -- Publishers Weekly Sardonic, distinctive, and wildly intelligent. -- Kirkus Reviews Things you will probably experience while reading this wonderful book: gut-wrenching hope, ugly-crying, the joy of finding beautiful moments in the midst of difficult times. Enjoy. -- Adi Alsaid, author of LET'S GET LOST and NEVER ALWAYS SOMETIMESshow more

About Lara Avery

Lara Avery lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota, where she is a contributor at Revolver and at work on her next novel.show more

Rating details

3,257 ratings
4.07 out of 5 stars
5 36% (1,160)
4 42% (1,365)
3 18% (582)
2 4% (114)
1 1% (36)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X