The Magical Imperfect

The Magical Imperfect

4.37 (468 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
4.37 (468 ratings by Goodreads)
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 9-12 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

Highly recommended... Perfect for readers of Wonder and Erin Entrada Kelly's Hello, Universe.-- Booklist magazine, starred review

Etan has stopped speaking since his mother left. His father and grandfather don't know how to help him. His friends have given up on him.

When Etan is asked to deliver a grocery order to the outskirts of town, he realizes he's at the home of Malia Agbayani, also known as the Creature. Malia stopped going to school when her acute eczema spread to her face, and the bullying became too much.

As the two become friends, other kids tease Etan for knowing the Creature. But he believes he might have a cure for Malia's condition, if only he can convince his family and hers to believe it too. Even if it works, will these two outcasts find where they fit in?
show more

Product details

  • 12-15
  • Hardback | 336 pages
  • 137 x 211 x 33mm | 408g
  • New York
  • English
  • 1250767822
  • 9781250767820
  • 1,554,921

Review quote

A Sydney Taylor Book Award Notable Book
A Junior Library Guild Selection

Highly recommended...satisfyingly blends empathy, a range of diversity, and youthful possibility with serendipity's sparkle. Perfect for readers of Wonder and Erin Entrada Kelly's Hello, Universe. --
Booklist magazine, starred review

Etan's honest and lovable voice, and its growing strength, that carries this tender novel. --Publishers Weekly

Written in first person, this lyrical novel-in-verse invites readers into Etan's world, who will be drawn in by his very silence and how friendship relies on listening just as much as speaking.--School Library Journal

[P]aints a beau-ti-ful pic-ture of inter-twined fam-i-lies, of a com-mu-ni-ty dis-cov-er-ing its strengths, immi-gra-tion across gen-er-a-tions of Amer-i-cans, and the unlike-ly friend-ship between two kids try-ing to find their place in the world. --Jewish Book Council

This story might remind you of the book Wonder. --The Week Junior

Musical, enchanting, powerful. --Double the Books Magazine

Baron captures both small personal moments and historical events by deploying the perfect detail, dialogue snippet or plot puzzle-piece at the perfect time. --The San Diego Union Tribune

Praise for All of Me:

A Southern California Independent Booksellers Association BESTSELLER!
BookRiot Best Children's Books about Kindness
Nerdy Book Club 2019 Award, Novels-in-Verse
A Literacious Favorite Middle-Grade Book of 2019
A National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) Notable Book

If you have ever felt lost in the world, betrayed by your body or buoyed by a glimmer of hope or the glow of friendship, then All of Me could be your story, too. --The Los Angeles Times

All of Me is for anyone who has been in search of a tribe, in love with a friend or in need of answers to questions that they can't bring themselves to ask. In other words, everybody. --San Diego Union Tribune

Astute and stun-ning. All of Me is high-ly rec-om-mend-ed and offers an elo-quent and often-heart-break-ing glimpse into the expe-ri-ences of a lay-ered, com-plex and relat-able pro-tag-o-nist. Read-ers will sure-ly root for Ari as his sto-ry unfolds. --Jewish Book Council

[A] beautifully written and psychologically acute debut. Readers will be glad to accompany Ari on his journey to self-discovery. -- Booklist magazine

Any reader who has felt like an outsider will be drawn to Ari's story, which means his audience should be legion. --The Horn Book Magazine

Baron's free-verse poetry is immediate and lyrical, allowing us access to Ari's thoughts and feelings in a way that prose would not. Baron's first-person narration allows the reader to experience Ari's pain and revelations, both of which are balanced with moments of grace and beauty....highly recommended for readers of all ages. --Bookpage

A unique perspective on weight loss and family told in beautiful, pitch perfect verse. --Happily Ever Elephants Blog

Tackling such difficult subjects as anti-Semitism, self-harm, and family instability with heart-breaking honesty and grace, All of Me deftly explores the complex layers of what it means to come of age. Baron's evocative verse beautifully expresses the depth of Ari's feelings; he will be a lifeline to anyone unsure of how they fit in the world. --Joy McCullogh, National Book Award nominated author of Blood Water Paint

I LOVE THIS BOOK. A moving and raw story that will stay with me. --Remy Lai, author of Pie in the Sky

In page after page of gorgeous verse, Chris Baron tells a story of hard-won healing, self acceptance, and hope. --Jarrett Lerner, author of EngiNerds and the Geeger the Robot series

"Chris Baron's gorgeous debut shines with strength, vulnerability, and humor. Ari's journey to self-acceptance is hopeful and inspiring." --Jen Petro-Roy, author of Good Enough: A Novel

Ari's story of love and loss and learning to live life on his own terms broke my heart and put it back together again. Beautiful and necessary! --Kelly deVos, author of Fat Girl on a Plane

Baron's writing is quick-witted and full of depth, allowing complicated characters to navigate growing up, identity and struggling with heavy things -- not just body image and bullying but absent parents, self-harm, faith, first loves, interrupted friendships and more. The book is compelling, hopeful and a total page-turner. --The Voice of San Diego magazine

A powerful story, beautifully told. Highly recommended. --Middle Grade Minded Blog
show more

About Chris Baron

Chris Baron is a professor of English at San Diego City College. His first novel, All of Me, was a Southern California Independent Booksellers Association bestseller; A BookRiot Best Children's Book About Kindness; and an NCTE Notable Book. Newbery Medalist Matt de la Pena called it, "Beautifully written, brilliant, and necessary. Chris Baron lives in San Diego with his family.
show more

Rating details

468 ratings
4.37 out of 5 stars
5 51% (237)
4 37% (174)
3 11% (52)
2 1% (4)
1 0% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X