The Love Hypothesis
26%
off

The Love Hypothesis

4.27 (789,445 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
4.27 (789,445 ratings by Goodreads)
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 7-10 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

The Instant New York Times Bestseller and TikTok Sensation!

As seen on THE VIEW!

A BuzzFeed Best Summer Read of 2021

When a fake relationship between scientists meets the irresistible force of attraction, it throws one woman's carefully calculated theories on love into chaos.

As a third-year Ph.D. candidate, Olive Smith doesn't believe in lasting romantic relationships--but her best friend does, and that's what got her into this situation. Convincing Anh that Olive is dating and well on her way to a happily ever after was always going to take more than hand-wavy Jedi mind tricks: Scientists require proof. So, like any self-respecting biologist, Olive panics and kisses the first man she sees.

That man is none other than Adam Carlsen, a young hotshot professor--and well-known ass. Which is why Olive is positively floored when Stanford's reigning lab tyrant agrees to keep her charade a secret and be her fake boyfriend. But when a big science conference goes haywire, putting Olive's career on the Bunsen burner, Adam surprises her again with his unyielding support and even more unyielding...six-pack abs.

Suddenly their little experiment feels dangerously close to combustion. And Olive discovers that the only thing more complicated than a hypothesis on love is putting her own heart under the microscope.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 336 pages
  • 139 x 209 x 27.43mm | 344.73g
  • Berkley Publishing Corporation,U.S.
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0593336828
  • 9780593336823
  • 11,201

Review Text

When a fake relationship between scientists meets the irresistible force of attraction, it...
show more

Review quote

An Indie Next Pick!

A literary breakthrough...The Love Hypothesis is a self-assured debut, and we hypothesize it's just the first bit of greatness we'll see from an author who somehow has the audacity to be both an academic powerhouse and divinely talented novelist.--Entertainment Weekly

"Contemporary romance's unicorn: the elusive marriage of deeply brainy and delightfully escapist...The Love Hypothesis has wild commercial appeal but the quieter secret is that there is a specific audience, made up of all of the Olives in the world, who have deeply, ardently waited for this exact book."--Christina Lauren, New York Times bestselling author

"Funny, sexy and smart, Ali Hazelwood did a terrific job with The Love Hypothesis."--Mariana Zapata, New York Times bestselling author

"This tackles one of my favorite tropes--Grumpy meets Sunshine--in a fun and utterly endearing way...I loved the nods towards fandom and romance novels, and I couldn't put it down. Highly recommended!"--Jessica Clare, New York Times bestselling author

Pure slow-burning gold with lots of chemistry.--Popsugar

A beautifully written romantic comedy with a heroine you will instantly fall in love with, The Love Hypothesis is destined to earn a place on your keeper shelf.--Elizabeth Everett, author of A Lady's Formula for Love

Smart, witty dialog and a diverse cast of likable secondary characters...A realistic, amusing novel that readers won't be able to put down.--Library Journal, starred review

Hilarious and heartwarming, The Love Hypothesis is romantic comedy at its best...a perfect amalgamation of sex and science, sure to appeal to readers of Christina Lauren or Abby Jimenez.--Shelf Awareness

With whip-smart and endearing characters, snappy prose, and a quirky take on a favorite trope, Hazelwood convincingly navigates the fraught shoals of academia...This smart, sexy contemporary should delight a wide swath of romance lovers.--Publishers Weekly
show more

About Ali Hazelwood

Ali Hazelwood is the New York Times bestselling author of The Love Hypothesis, as well as the writer of peer-reviewed articles about brain science, in which no one makes out and the ever after is not always happy. Originally from Italy, she lived in Germany and Japan before moving to the U.S. to pursue a Ph.D. in neuroscience. She recently became a professor, which absolutely terrifies her. When Ali is not at work, she can be found running, eating cake pops, or watching sci-fi movies with her two feline overlords (and her slightly-less-feline husband).
show more

Rating details

789,445 ratings
4.27 out of 5 stars
5 49% (388,764)
4 34% (266,087)
3 13% (100,997)
2 3% (24,809)
1 1% (8,788)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X