The Lost Girl

The Lost Girl : A captivating tale of mystery and intrigue. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies

3.95 (263 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$16.79

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

ONE OF LOVEREADING's BOOKS OF THE YEAR . . .

A heart-rending story of loss and enduring love, set between the darkest days of Paris and the sunshine of Provence.

Her daughter disappeared four years ago. . .

Since her daughter went missing four years earlier, celebrated photographer Kurtiz Ross has been a woman alone. Her only companion her camera. Since Lizzie disappeared, she has blamed and isolated herself, given up hope. Until, out of the blue, an unexpected sighting of Lizzie is made in Paris.

Could this lead to the reconciliation she has dreamed of?

Within hours of Kurtiz arriving in Paris, the City of Light is plunged into a night of hell when a series of terrorist attacks bring the city to a standstill. Amid the fear and chaos, a hand reaches out. A sympathetic stranger in a cafe offers to help Kurtiz find her daughter.

A stranger's guiding light

Neither knows what this harrowing night will deliver, but the other woman's kindness - and her stories of her own love and loss in post-war Provence - shine light into the shadows, restoring hope, bringing the unexpected. Out of darkness and despair, new life rises. New beginnings unfold.

Dare she believe in a miracle?

Set during a time of bloodshed and chaos in one of the most beautiful cities on earth and along the warm fragrant shores of the Mediterranean, Kurtiz discovers that miracles really can happen . . .


Praise for The Lost Girl:

'A story to savour, complete with wonderful settings stretching from Paris to the glorious countryside of southern France' Dinah Jefferies, Number One Sunday Times bestselling author of The Tea Planter's Wife

'A great and compassionate writer' Danuta Kean, Guardian

'Mesmerising, haunting and extraordinarily relevant' Lovereading

'A gripping tale' Sunday Post

'The perfect holiday read that manages to keep you guessing the whole way through' Living France

'A story of love and loss, of sadness and great joy' The Middle East
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 432 pages
  • 144 x 222 x 38mm | 575g
  • Michael Joseph Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 071818310X
  • 9780718183103
  • 355,002

Review quote

I loved this book. I kept snatching a few more pages whenever I could. It has left me wanting to head to warmer climes and take part in the grape and olive harvests. Well I can dream can't I? * Mumsnet * Gripping * Candis * This atmospheric read will whisk you straight to the South of France as you become immersed in the tale of secrets and heartbreak * Marie Claire * A lovely book packed with the sunshine, scents and savours of the South of France. Plenty of page-turning drama but also mouthwatering descriptions of Paris and Provence. Enough to make you rush straight to the Eurostar * Daily Mail * Secrets, tragedy, hidden pasts and family secrets all set in glorious Provence - I loved this -- Santa Montefiore Praise for The Forgotten Summer * - * Superb book . . . two different eras that tie in beautifully . . . I couldn't put the book down * NetGalley Reviewer * Great read and easy to follow, look forward to reading more * NetGalley Reviewer * A great book, one you become immersed in, highly recommended * NetGalley Reviewer * A brilliantly told story set against that dreadful night. The characters are superbly written . . . I couldn't put it down * NetGalley Reviewer * The Lost Girl is a story of love and loss, of sadness and great joy . . . Through a cast of frequently complex but immensely likeable characters, the author takes us on a journey - across five generations - that challenge a wide range of political, social and moral mores. Ultimately, The Lost Girl offers a message of hope and regeneration, in addition to the timely reminder that it is often darkest before the dawn * The Middle East * An emotional tale of loss and kindness * French Property News * A gripping tale * Sunday Post * Mesmerising, haunting and extraordinarily relevant * Lovereading * Carol Drinkwater is a great and compassionate writer -- Danuta Kean * Guardian * An unforgettable journey of family, romance, regret and renewal * The Gloss * The perfect holiday read that manages to keep you guessing the whole way through * Living France * Ranging across time periods this is a story to savour, complete with wonderful settings stretching from Paris to the occupied territory of the West Bank, and to the glorious countryside of southern France and La Cote d'Azur. Most of all I enjoyed the descriptions of France, particularly the 'wild heady scents', the sloping vineyards and the olive groves of the south. I felt I was breathing the fragrant air and eating dinner beneath the stars -- Dinah Jefferies * Number One Sunday Times bestselling author of The Tea Planter's Wife * A heartrending story of loss and enduring love, set between the night of the Paris terror attacks and post-war Provence * from the publisher's description *
show more

About Carol Drinkwater

Carol Drinkwater is a multi-award-winning actress who is best known for her portrayal of Helen Herriot in the BBC television series All Creatures Great and Small. She is also the author of over twenty books, both fiction and non-fiction. Her quartet of memoirs set on her olive farm in the south of France have sold over a million copies worldwide and her solo journey round the Mediterranean in search of the Olive tree's mythical secrets inspired a five-part documentary film series, The Olive Route.

Carol lives in the south of France where she is writing her next novel.
show more

Rating details

263 ratings
3.95 out of 5 stars
5 38% (101)
4 31% (82)
3 21% (55)
2 6% (17)
1 3% (8)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X