The Liverpool Matchgirl: The heart-rending saga of a motherless Liverpool girl
12%
off

The Liverpool Matchgirl: The heart-rending saga of a motherless Liverpool girl

4.18 (38 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Parentless and alone on the streets of Liverpool, Lizzie must fight for a brighter future...

A nostalgic and poignant saga of Liverpool in the years before the First World War, from the Sunday Times bestselling author Lyn Andrews.

Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Donna Douglas and Rosie Goodwin.

Liverpool, 1901. The Tempest family is all but destitute, barely able to put food on the table. When Florrie falls ill with pneumonia and Arthur is imprisoned after a drunken fight, their thirteen-year-old daughter Lizzie finds herself parentless, desperate and alone.

Despite her young age, Lizzie has spirit and determination, and she knows that she must find work to keep herself off the streets. In a stroke of luck, she gets a job in the match factory, and foreman George Rutherford takes her under his wing. A new home with the Rutherfords promises a safe haven, but the years ahead will be far from trouble-free. And when Lizzie gives her heart, how can she be sure she has chosen a better man than her own father?


What readers are saying about The Liverpool Matchgirl:

'I couldn't put it down' Amazon reader, 5 stars

'Love this book...another brilliant novel from a brilliant author' Amazon reader, 5 stars

'An excellent read, Lyn Andrews never disappoints' Amazon reader, 5 stars
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 368 pages
  • 160 x 236 x 34mm | 620g
  • Headline Book Publishing
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1472228758
  • 9781472228758

Review quote

Gutsy...a vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community...will keep the pages turning * Daily Express * The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool * Northern Echo * A compelling read * Woman's Own * A vivid portrayal of life * Best * Praise for Lyn Andrews: 'An outstanding storyteller' * Woman's Weekly *
show more

About Lyn Andrews

Lyn Andrews was born in Liverpool in 1944; her father Joseph was killed on D-Day just nine months later. Lyn was brought up in Liverpool and became a secretary before she married and gave birth to triplets. Once the children had gone to school Lyn began writing, and her first novel was quickly accepted for publication. She has since written over thirty books, many of them Sunday Times bestsellers.

Lyn lives on the Isle of Man, but spends many weeks of the year back on Merseyside, seeing her children and grandchildren.

www.lynandrewsbooks.co.uk
www.facebook.com/LynAndrewsBooks
Twitter: @LynSagaAuthor
show more

Rating details

38 ratings
4.18 out of 5 stars
5 39% (15)
4 47% (18)
3 8% (3)
2 3% (1)
1 3% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X