The Lazarus War: Artefact
33%
off

The Lazarus War: Artefact

3.69 (516 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Artefact is book one of The Lazarus War, an explosive new space adventure series from one of the brightest new stars in science fiction - perfect for fans of The Edge of Tomorrow, Alien and James S. A. Corey's Expanse series. Jack Campbell, author of the Lost Fleet novels calls it 'a gripping read that moves at warp speed'. Mankind has spread to the stars, only to become locked in warfare with an insidious alien race. All that stands against the alien menace are the soldiers of the Simulant Operation Programme, an elite military team remotely operating avatars in the most dangerous theatres of war. Captain Conrad Harris has died hundreds of times - running suicide missions in simulant bodies. Known as Lazarus, he is a man addicted to death. So when a secret research station deep in alien territory suddenly goes dark, there is no other man who could possibly lead a rescue mission. But Harris hasn't been trained for what he's about to find. And this time, he may not be coming back ...Artefact is an action-drenched tale of elite space marines, deep space exploration and galactic empires. Discover The Lazarus War - the thrilling new space opera series from one of the most exciting new voices in science fiction. 'Hyper-speed entertainment from a new master of science fiction' William C. Dietz, author of the Legion novels and HALO tie-in novels 'An adrenaline shot of rip-roaring military SF' Stephen Deas, author of Elite: Wanted, Empires: Infiltrationand Extraction 'Gripping, gritty and unsentimental - Sawyer shows us how perilous future war can be' Michael Cobley, author of the Humanity's Fire series 'A fun, gripping adventure story, with a mystery at its core' Gary Gibson, author of Stealing Light 'Alien biomechs ...terrorism, subterfuge and traitors ...starships sporting particle beam weapons, railguns the size of skyscrapers, laser batteries, missiles ...This, dear readers, is the good stuff' Neal Asher, author of the Agent Cormac novelsshow more

Product details

  • Paperback | 464 pages
  • 132 x 196 x 30mm | 310g
  • Little, Brown Book Group
  • Orbit
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0356505464
  • 9780356505466
  • 374,215

Review quote

Artefact is a gripping read that moves at warp speed Jack Campbell, author of THE LOST FLEET novels Gripping, gritty and unsentimental - Sawyer shows us how perilous future war can be Michael Cobley, author of the Humanity's Fire series The Lazarus War: Artefact is an outstanding novel ... fresh and exciting and gripping ... I eagerly look forward to the next installment. I think I'd follow Conrad "Lazarus" Harris anywhere. FORBIDDEN PLANET INTERNATIONAL An entertaining slice of retro sci-fi adventure SFX A hostile race of alien biomechs somewhat in the mould of H R Giger aliens ... terrorism, subterfuge and traitors ... starships sporting particle beam weapons, railguns the size of skyscrapers, laser batteries, missiles... And then there are the uber-human super-soldiers clad in powered armour and wielding plasma weapons... Is that enough for you? ... This, dear readers, is the good stuff. Recommended. Neal Asher, author of the Agent Cormac novels A ripping yarn ... a wholly unique adventure WEEKEND SPORT Hyper-speed entertainment from a new master of science fiction William C. Dietz, author of the Legion novels and HALO tie-in novels A highly promising science fiction debut - a fun, gripping adventure story, with a mystery at its core that kept me turning the pages Gary Gibson, author of STEALING LIGHT Artefact is an adrenaline shot of rip-roaring military SF packed with cinematic action sequences and tightly drawn characters. I look forward returning to the company of hardman Conrad Harris and his motley crew of simulants and soldiers time and again Stephen Deas, author of THE ADAMANTINE PALACE Debut author Sawyer digs into the psychic damage simulant operators like Harris suffer from by dying repeatedly ... For fans of Robert Heinlein, John Scalzi, and Joe Haldeman LIBRARY JOURNAL One of the absolute best new military science fiction books I've read recently. HIGHLY recommended if you want an action packed SF book you won't put down! BEST SCIENCE FICTION BOOKSshow more

About Jamie Sawyer

Jamie Sawyer was born in 1979 in Newbury, Berkshire. He studied law at the University of East Anglia, Norwich, acquiring a master's degree in human rights and surveillance law. Jamie is a full-time barrister, practising in criminal law. When he isn't working in law or writing, Jamie enjoys spending time with his family in Essex. He is an enthusiastic reader of all types of SF, especially classic authors such as Heinlein and Haldeman.show more
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X