The Last Watch
7%
off

The Last Watch

4.33 (271 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

The Expanse meets Game of Thrones in J. S. Dewes's fast-paced, sci-fi adventure The Last Watch, where a handful of soldiers stand between humanity and annihilation. The Divide. It's the edge of the universe. Now it's collapsing--and taking everyone and everything with it. The only ones who can stop it are the Sentinels--the recruits, exiles, and court-martialed dregs of the military. At the Divide, Adequin Rake commands the Argus. She has no resources, no comms--nothing, except for the soldiers that no one wanted. Her ace in the hole could be Cavalon Mercer--genius, asshole, and exiled prince who nuked his grandfather's genetic facility for "reasons." She knows they're humanity's last chance.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 480 pages
  • 135 x 208 x 35.56mm | 300g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1250236347
  • 9781250236340
  • 241,504

Review quote

Praise for The Last Watch

"Dewes's debut is an exciting, fast-paced ride around the edges of the universe, where those rejected by much of humanity are the only ones who can save it. Fans of K. B. Wagers's 'Farian Wars' series and John Scalzi's Old Man's War will welcome this military science fiction thriller." --Library Journal, starred review "The Last Watch is a bravura debut that blends great action with compelling characters, lighting up this new series like a dark matter generator." --Booklist Gripping space opera debut. --Publishers Weekly "A high-energy thrill ride at the edge of space featuring a crew of miscreants racing against time aboard an ancient spaceship. A great concept with an even better execution, this is a sci-fi space opera for readers looking to dial up the excitement."--Bookpage (starred review) "An epic tale of survival at the end of the universe." --Megan E. O'Keefe, author of Velocity Weapon "Crisp writing, vivid characters, and a plot that beguiles the imagination. The Last Watch is a stunning military sci-fi debut. I was hooked from the opening lines. If you like science fiction, then this book is definitely for you." --Jasper T. Scott, USA Today Bestselling Author "The Last Watch is an amazing debut. The smart world-building and explode-off-the page action scenes make it perfect for fans of The Expanse and other fast-paced Sci Fi. I predict that Dewes is going to be a 'must read' author for years to come." --Michael Mammay, author of Planetside "More fun than that time The Expendables, the Dirty Dozen and all of The Night's Watch all got picked up by a random quantum tear in the fabric of spacetime and shot out the edge of the universe to kick ass and save humanity." --John Birmingham, author of the Axis of Time trilogy "Take the action of Marko Kloos' Frontlines novels, mix in the intricate world building of Game of Thrones or Warhammer 40,000, and light the fuse. . . . Bursting with snappy dialogue and detail and furious with action, you'll want to catch your breath when it's over, and then you'll want more. Bring it on." --Dayton Ward, bestselling author "A scary edge-of-reality setup, cool martial-arts tattoos, interesting time anomalies, and OMG! The Universe is contracting!? Clear your schedule, because once you've gotten on this roller coaster, you're not going to want to get off until you've ridden it to the end." --Emily Devenport, author of Medusa Uploaded "The Last Watch by J.S. Dewes is as spectacular a science fiction story as one is going to find. From a plot that is full of drama to amazing characters that are relatable and interesting, all over a backdrop of a futuristic space setting, The Last Watch is nearly flawless." --FanFi Addict "The Last Watch has it all! Risky orbital maneuvers! Knife fights with grotesque aliens! Mysterious ancient artifacts! Secret royalty! Tragic backstories! It's classic military space opera with a touch of the cosmic." --David Levine, winner of the Andre Norton Award for Arabella of Mars "J.S. Dewes' impressive debut...features big ideas, kick-ass characters, and an environmental collapse; you have to try to not be interested in this book. Highly recommended!" --Primmlife
show more

About J. S. Dewes

J. S. Dewes has a Bachelor of Arts in Film from Columbia College Chicago, and has written scripts for award-winning films, which have screened at San Diego Comic-Con and dozens of film festivals across the nation. The Last Watch is her first novel.
show more

Rating details

271 ratings
4.33 out of 5 stars
5 52% (142)
4 32% (88)
3 11% (31)
2 3% (9)
1 0% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X