The Last Night

The Last Night

3.94 (136 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$12.95

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

'A deftly-handled, slow-burning thriller... the author's evocation of time and place is impeccable. Fans of Kate Mosse and Kate Atkinson will find a lot to like here.' Joanne Harris

In a peaceful coastal village, Irina spends her days quietly restoring furniture, hiding from a long-held family secret. When an antique bureau is sent anonymously to her workshop, Irina senses an uneasy history to the object. As she investigates its origins, the mysteries it holds are slowly revealed...

Decades earlier, another young woman also kept secrets. Over the course of one halcyon summer, Abigail fell in love and dreamed of the future. But she could not know that catastrophe loomed, and this event would change the course of many lives for ever...
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 22mm | 258g
  • Corvus
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Main
  • 1782395733
  • 9781782395737
  • 1,200,458

Review quote

A moving debut * Woman & Home on The Silent Hours * A moving and evocative portrait of a little-known wartime tragedy * Sunday Express on The Silent Hours * [A] strong debut... This is assured writing and Major is a talent to watch -- Antonia Senior * The Times on The Silent Hours * A beautifully written novel that will stay with you long after you finish the last page * Sun on The Silent Hours * Beautifully written and peppered with real emotion, this is a story that will linger long after reading * Heat on The Silent Hours * Captivating and beautifully written * The Sun, Fabulous Mag on The Last Night * A perfect Sunday afternoon read * Red online, on The Last Night * A smart, flawless and unforgettable triumph * Heat Magazine on The Last Night * A deftly-handled, slow-burning thriller across two distinct timelines... the author's evocation of time and place is impeccable. Fans of Kate Mosse and Kate Atkinson will find a lot to like here. -- Joanne Harris, Goodreads
show more

About Cesca Major

Cesca Major read history at Bristol University. She went on to work in television before becoming a history teacher. In 2005 she was runner-up in the Daily Mail Writing Competition for the best opening paragraph to a novel and had a short story published in the Sentinel Literary Magazine. She has written regularly for the website www.novelicious.com and films writing videos for www.writersandartists.com. She currently works as a housemistress at a boarding school in Berkshire.
show more

Rating details

136 ratings
3.94 out of 5 stars
5 36% (49)
4 35% (47)
3 21% (28)
2 6% (8)
1 3% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X