The Last House Guest

The Last House Guest

3.64 (10,767 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

REESE'S BOOK CLUB x HELLO SUNSHINE AUGUST 2019 PICK!

FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF ALL THE MISSING GIRLS

The perfect summer thriller ... twisty and tense, with a pace that made my heart race. An edge-of-your-seat, up-all-night read. - Riley Sager, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Time I Lied

A riveting read! - Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author of The Good Girl

Dizzying plot twists and multiple surprise endings are this author's stock in trade, but she warms them up by establishing the close friendship between Sadie Loman...and Avery Greer...And, oh boy, does she ever know how to write a twisty-turny ending (or two, or more). - Marilyn Stasio, New York Times Book Review
______________________

Never overstay your welcome...

Littleport, Maine is like two separate towns: a vacation paradise for wealthy holidaymakers and a simple harbour community for the residents who serve them. Friendships between locals and visitors are unheard of - but that's just what happened with Avery Greer and Sadie Loman.

Each summer for a decade the girls are inseparable - until Sadie is found dead. When the police rule the death a suicide, Avery can't help but feel there are those in the community, including a local detective and Sadie's brother Parker, who blame her. Someone knows more than they're saying, and Avery is intent on clearing her name before she's branded a killer.

______________________


Fast-paced and gripping. - People
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 153 x 234 x 25mm | 457g
  • Corvus
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Main
  • 1786492911
  • 9781786492913
  • 9,105

Review quote

Intricately plotted... Ms. Miranda brings heightened suspense and a twist to this familiar scenario by telling the story, which unfolds over 15 days, in reverse chronological order. * New York Times on All The Missing Girls * Are you paying attention? You'll need to be; this thriller will test your brain with its reverse chronological structure, and it's a page-turner to boot. * ELLE on All the Missing Girls * Both [Gillian] Flynn's and Miranda's main characters also reclaim the right of female characters to be more than victim or femme fatale... All the Missing Girls is set to become one of the best books of 2016. * Los Angeles Review of Books on All The Missing Girls * A twisty, compulsive read, I loved it. * Ruth Ware, author of The Woman in Cabin 10, on All The Missing Girls * A smart, suspenseful, and emotionally complex thriller... Lock the doors, turn off the phone, and read until the last satisfying page. * Alafair Burke, author of The Wife, on All The Missing Girls * The vivid description of this isolated town sets the stage for the revelation of Littleport's secrets...Miranda's exploration of how Avery's and Sadie's lives intertwine give the story its depth. Fans of Michele Campbell and Mary Kubica, who like family drama supporting their suspense, will enjoy. * Booklist * Compelling... An evocative... thriller * Kirkus * Will leave you on the edge-of-your-seat clutching onto your hubby for dear life. * Glamour * Miranda delivers a clever, stylish mystery that will seize readers like a riptide. * Publishers' Weekly (Starred review) * Dizzying plot twists and multiple surprise endings are this author's stock in trade, but she warms them up by establishing the close friendship between Sadie Loman...and Avery Greer...And, oh boy, does she ever know how to write a twisty-turny ending (or two, or more). * Marilyn Stasio, New York Times Book Review * A lightning-fast mystery, full of menace and unexpected twists and turns that will have readers on the edge of their seats. A riveting read! * Mary Kubica, author of The Good Girl * The perfect summer thriller ... twisty and tense, with a pace that made my heart race. An edge-of-your-seat, up-all-night read. * Riley Sager, author of The Last Time I Lied * Fast-paced and gripping. * People *
show more

About Megan Miranda

Megan Miranda is the author of the bestseller All The Missing Girls, and of her fantastic follow up novel The Perfect Stranger. She has also written several books for young adults. She grew up in New Jersey, graduated from MIT, and lives in North Carolina with her husband and two children.

Follow @MeganLMiranda on Twitter and Instagram, or @AuthorMeganMiranda on Facebook.
www.meganmiranda.com
show more

Rating details

10,767 ratings
3.64 out of 5 stars
5 17% (1,809)
4 40% (4,345)
3 35% (3,717)
2 7% (758)
1 1% (138)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X