The Last Fifth Grade of Emerson Elementary
28%
off

The Last Fifth Grade of Emerson Elementary

4.12 (824 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

An award-winning, big-hearted time capsule of one class's poems during a transformative school year. A great pick for fans of Margarita Engle and Eileen Spinelli. Eighteen kids, one year of poems, one school set to close. Two yellow bulldozers crouched outside, ready to eat the building in one greedy gulp. But look out, bulldozers. Ms. Hill's fifth-grade class has plans for you. They're going to speak up and work together to save their school. Families change and new friendships form as these terrific kids grow up and move on in this whimsical novel-in-verse about finding your voice and making sure others hear it. Honors and Praise: Winner of a Cybils Award in Poetry An NCTE Notable Verse Novel A Bank Street College of Education Best Children's Book of the Year An ILA-CBC Children's Choice Nominated for the Pennsylvania Young Reader's Choice Award, the Wisconsin State Reading Association Children's Book Award, the Rhode Island Children's Book Award, and the Great Stone Face Award (New Hampshire) "This gently evocative study of change in all its glory and terror would make a terrific read-aloud or introduction to a poetry unit. A most impressive debut." --School Library Journal "Sure to inspire the poet in all of us, young and old." --Mark Goldblatt, author of Twerpshow more

Product details

  • 9-12
  • Hardback | 246 pages
  • 145 x 218 x 25mm | 318g
  • WENDY LAMB BOOKS
  • English
  • Illustrations, unspecified
  • 0553521373
  • 9780553521375
  • 462,218

About Laura Shovan

Laura Shovan has been a writer since the second grade. After graduating from NYU's Dramatic Writing Program, she taught high school and worked as a freelance journalist. She is now an educational consultant for teens with learning difficulties. She edited two poetry anthologies and is the author of the Harriss Poetry prize-winning chapbook Moutain, Log, Salt, and Stone. Laura and her family live in Maryland, where she is a longtime poet-in-the-schools for the Maryland State Arts Council. This is her first novel. Visit her online at laurashovan.com and on Twitter at @LauraShovan.show more

Review quote

"The poems are easy to read, in authentic-sounding language that captures the poets' personalities; avatar-like illustrations accompany each piece to remind readers of who's who. A helpful guide to poetic forms appears at the end of the book." --The Horn Book "Entertaining . . . Shovan skillfully employs different poetic forms and styles...Characters... will inspire readers as they find the courage to save their school and make their voices heard, both as a united front and as capable, valuable individuals." --Publishers Weekly "Eighteen kids. Eighteen Stories. An original idea, artfully and heartfully rendered. What a treat." --Eileen Spinelli, author of Another Day as Emily and other books "A delightful book, with an endearing cast of characters who can help teach the craft of poetry while sharing their own diverse personal stories." --Margarita Engle, Newbery Honor-winning author of The Surrender Treeshow more

Rating details

824 ratings
4.12 out of 5 stars
5 38% (311)
4 41% (337)
3 19% (153)
2 2% (18)
1 1% (5)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X