The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash
29%
off

The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash : A Novel

3.97 (140 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"One of 2017's biggest debuts... Obsession-worthy." - Bustle "Smart, raw, often biting in its reflections of the haves and have-nots, this debut will appeal to fans of John Green's An Abundance of Katherines... Candace Ganger's breathtaking debut is a must-have for every shelf." - Patty Blount, award-winning author of Some Boys Sebastian Alvarez is just trying to hold the pieces together, to not flunk out, to keep his sort-of-best friend Wild Kyle from doing something really bad. And to see his beloved Ma through chemo. But when he meets Birdie Paxton, a near-Valedictorian who doesn't realize she's smoking hot in her science pun T-shirt, at a party, an undeniable attraction sparks. And suddenly he's not worried about anything. But before they are able to exchange numbers, they are pulled apart. A horrifying tragedy links Birdie and Bash together - yet neither knows it. When they finally reconnect, and are starting to fall - hard - the events of the tragedy unfold, changing both their lives in ways they can never undo. Told in alternating perspectives full of the best nerdy banter this side of Ohio, some seriously awesome skate moves, and the promise of a kiss destined to make the world stop turning, The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash will break your heart and put it back together again.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 139 x 224 x 29mm | 404g
  • St Martin's Press
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1250116228
  • 9781250116222
  • 1,537,653

About Candace Ganger

CANDACE GANGER is a contributing writer for HelloGiggles and obsessive marathoner. Aside from having past lives as a singer, nanotechnology website editor, and world's worst vacuum sales rep, she's also ghostwritten hundreds of projects for companies, best-selling fiction and award-winning nonfiction authors alike. She lives in Ohio with her family.show more

Review quote

"Ganger alternates between Bash's and Birdie's perspectives, and readers will be anxious for Birdie to realize Bash's true identity, and for Bash to come forward to someone--anyone--with the truth. Bash's friendship with the troubled Kyle, who does nothing but treat him poorly, is puzzling, fascinating, and yet painfully true to life. Hand to fans of Jennifer Niven's All the Bright Places (2015)." - Booklist "One of 2017's Biggest Debuts... Obsession-worthy." - Bustle "Chemistry geeks will get a kick out of this nerdy story about how love and loss can go hand in hand...Readers will cheer for Birdie as she struggles to get out of her own way, and readers' hearts will break for Bash as he struggles to cope with his mom's terminal cancer. Unknowingly connected by both love and tragedy, these two unlikely opposites will collide like molecules with sufficient kinetic energy and, together, create something greater than the sum of their individual parts." - Romantic Times "Smart, raw, often biting in its reflections of the haves and have-nots, this debut will appeal to fans of John Green's An Abundance of Katherines. Birdie and Bash are part of a cast of characters so vividly drawn, you'll find yourself not only wanting to (re)study chemistry but learning what you get in life isn't always what you deserve - sometimes it's more. Candace Ganger's breathtaking debut is a must-have for every shelf." - Patty Blount, award-winning author of Some Boys "The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash is part love story, part page-turner, and part intricate character study. Ganger writes her characters with great care, and the beautifully structured story is filled with giant truths and tiny, perfect details. Falling for this book was quick, thrilling and, yes, inevitable." - Corey Ann Haydu, author ofOCD Love Story and The Careful Undressing of Love "Smart, emotionally rich, and beautifully written, The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash is an unforgettable, heartfelt novel--realistic YA at its best." - Jamie Kain, author of Instructions for the End of the World and The Good Sister "A smart, complex story with textured characters that lift off the page. Candace Ganger has a rare talent for weaving together two compulsively readable voices." - Jessica Taylor, author of Wandering Wild and A Map for Wrecked Girls "Smart, intense, heartbreaking...this debut novel is a must read."--Kim Turrisi, author of Just a Normal Tuesday "A stunning and brilliantly crafted debut that peels back layers to the raw and the real. My theory: Candace Ganger's talent is something you definitely want to collide with, immediately. Birdie + Bash = 2 characters impossible not to fall in love with." - K.M. Walton, author of Empty, Cracked, and Ultimatum "The book will make you laugh, definitely make you cry, and it might even make you question some of your own choices. It's fun, smart, witty, and emotionally traumatizing and I wouldn't want it any other way." - Reed's Reads and Reviews "Loss, grief, love, friendship, coming of age and more populate this novel. It's a really wonderful debut. This book has 'movie' written all over it. Fans of John Greenwill enjoy this one." - A Bookworm's Worldshow more

Rating details

140 ratings
3.97 out of 5 stars
5 39% (54)
4 30% (42)
3 24% (34)
2 4% (6)
1 3% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X