The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place : Book I: The Mysterious Howling

3.9 (20,323 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Illustrated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

The first book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place-the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Trenton Lee Stewart-has a brand-new look.

Discovered in the forest of Ashton Place, the Incorrigibles are no ordinary children. Luckily, Miss Penelope Lumley is no ordinary governess. A recent graduate of the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females, Penelope embraces the challenge of her new position. Though she is eager to instruct the children in Latin verbs and the proper use of globes, first she must eliminate their canine tendencies.

But mysteries abound at Ashton Place: Who are these three wild creatures Why does Old Timothy, the coachman, lurk around every corner Will Penelope be able to civilize the Incorrigibles in time for Lady Constance's holiday ball And what on earth is a schottische
show more

Product details

  • 0-5
  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 129 x 196 x 16mm | 194g
  • HarperCollins
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • w. ill.
  • 0062366939
  • 9780062366931
  • 109,410

Back cover copy

Of especially naughty children, it is sometimes said: "They must have been raised by wolves." The Incorrigible children actually were.

Discovered in the forest of Ashton Place, the Incorrigibles are no ordinary children. Luckily, Miss Penelope Lumley is no ordinary governess. A proud graduate of the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females, she must use all her skills to tame these clever canine children. Latin, poetry, and the use of globes will simply have to wait.

But mysteries abound at Ashton Place: Who are these three wild creatures? Why does Old Timothy, the coachman, lurk around every corner? Will Penelope be able to civilize the Incorrigibles in time for Lady Constance's holiday ball? And what on earth is that howling in the attic?
show more

Review Text

It's the best beginning since The Bad Beginning (1999) [by Lemony Snicket] and will leave readers howling for the next episode. Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
show more

Review quote

It's the best beginning since The Bad Beginning (1999) [by Lemony Snicket] and will leave readers howling for the next episode.--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
show more

About Maryrose Wood

Maryrose Wood is a former Broadway actor, comedian, and playwright. She is also the author of the teen novel THE POISON DIARIES and has written several other YA titles, including MY LIFE, THE MUSICAL and HOW I FOUND THE PERFECT DRESS. You can visit her online at www.maryrosewood.com.Jon Klassen grew up in Niagara Falls, Canada, and now lives in Los Angeles, California. He is the author and illustrator of the picture book I Want My Hat Back, as well as the illustrator of Cats' Night Out by Caroline Stutson, and the middle-grade series The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place by Maryrose Wood.
show more

Rating details

20,323 ratings
3.9 out of 5 stars
5 31% (6,388)
4 39% (7,863)
3 21% (4,291)
2 6% (1,181)
1 3% (600)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X