The Illusionist's Apprentice
38%
off

The Illusionist's Apprentice

3.84 (731 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

Not all illusions happen on the stage. Wren Lockhart, apprentice to master illusionist Harry Houdini, uses life on a vaudeville stage to escape the pain of her past. She continues her career of illusion after her mentor's death, intent on burying her true identity. But when a rival performer's act goes tragically wrong, the newly formed FBI calls on Wren to speak the truth-and reveal her real name to the world. She transfers her skills for misdirection from the stage to the back halls of vaudeville, as she finds herself the unlikely partner in the FBI's investigation. All the while Houdini's words echo in her mind: Whatever occurs, the crowd must believe it's what you meant to happen. She knows that if anyone digs too deep, secrets long kept hidden may find their way to the surface-and shatter her carefully controlled world. Set during one of the richest, most vibrant eras in American history, this Jazz Age novel of illusion, suspense, and forgotten pasts is perfect for fans of The Magician's Lie, challenging all to find the underpinnings of faith on their own life's stage. "Prepare to be amazed by The Illusionist's Apprentice." -Greer Macallister, bestselling author of The Magician's Lie and Girl in Disguiseshow more

Product details

  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 137 x 213 x 25mm | 322g
  • Thomas Nelson Publishers
  • Nashville, United States
  • English
  • 071804150X
  • 9780718041502
  • 524,321

Review quote

"Cambron (The Ringmaster's Wife) has written a gripping tale of suspense that will please her growing fan base." * Library Journal * "Cambron's lithe prose pulls together past and present and her attention to historical detail grounds the narrative to the last breathtaking moments." * -Publishers Weekly, starred review * 'Cambron takes readers on an amazing journey into the world of vaudeville illusionists during the Roaring Twenties. This novel includes an intriguing mystery that adds adventure and suspense to the intricately detailed historical drama . . . The romance is wonderfully portrayed as well, rounding out the story with tenderness.' * -RT Book Reviews 4 1/2 stars TOP PICK! *show more

About Kristy Cambron

Kristy Cambron fancies life as a vintage-inspired storyteller. Her debut novel, The Butterfly and the Violin, was named to Library Journal's Best Books of 2014 and nominated for RT Book Reviews' Choice Awards Best Inspirational Novel of 2014 and for the 2015 INSPY Awards for Best Debut Novel. Her second novel, A Sparrow in Terezin, was named Library Journal's Pick of the Month (Christian Fiction) for February 2015 and a Top Pick for RT Book Reviews. Kristy holds a degree in Art History from Indiana University. She lives in Indiana with her husband and three young sons. Website: www.kristycambron.com Twitter: @KCambronAuthor Facebook: Kristy-Cambron-Author.show more

Rating details

731 ratings
3.84 out of 5 stars
5 29% (210)
4 37% (272)
3 26% (187)
2 7% (49)
1 2% (13)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X