The Hundred Year Lie

The Hundred Year Lie : How to Protect Yourself from the Chemicals That are Destroying Your Health

3.98 (543 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


In a devastating expose in the tradition of Silent Spring and Fast Food Nation, investigative journalist Randall Fitzgerald warns how thousands of man-made chemicals in our food, water, medicine, and environment are making humans the most polluted species on the planet. A century ago, when Congress enacted the Pure Food and Drug Act, Americans were promised "better living through chemistry." Fitzgerald provides overwhelming evidence to shatter this myth, and many others perpetrated by the chemical, pharmaceutical, and processed foods industries. Consider this:
- The average American carries a "body burden" of 700 synthetic chemicals;
- Chemicals in tap water can cause reproductive abnormalities and hermaphroditic birth;
- One study of lactating women found perchlorate (a toxic component of rocket fuel) in practically every mother's breast milk. In the face of this national health crisis, Fitzgerald presents informed and practical suggestions for what we can do to turn the tide and live healthier lives.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 304 pages
  • 137.16 x 205.74 x 17.78mm | 362.87g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0452288398
  • 9780452288393
  • 135,051

Review quote

"Provocative and frightening . . . excellent."--Publishers Weekly "Exhaustively researched . . . a useful addition to your library."--Salon "A frightening wake-up call . . . if Fast Food Nation made you consider some serious lifestyle changes, The Hundred-Year Lie will inspire you to go ten steps farther."--Boston Herald
show more

About Randall Fitzgerald

Randall Fitzgerald has been an investigative newspaper and magazine reporter and book author for over forty years. He has written investigative features for Reader's Digest, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal. His books include The Hundred Year Lie: How food and Medicine Are Destroying Your Health, Lucky You!: Proven Strategies for Finding Good Fortune, and Toxic Beauty: How Cosmetics and Personal-Care Products Endanger Your Health... And What You Can Do About It with Samuel S. Epstein.
show more

Rating details

543 ratings
3.98 out of 5 stars
5 37% (203)
4 34% (186)
3 20% (111)
2 6% (30)
1 2% (13)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X