The House on Stone's Throw Island
14%
off

The House on Stone's Throw Island

3.79 (136 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A remote island is haunted by wedding crashers from beyond the grave. Dan Poblocki is back with a new spooky ghost story perfect for fans of Mary Downing Hahn and John Bellairs. There is an island, far off the coast of Maine, where the ghosts of the past are restless. Josie Sandoval and Eli Barker are strangers when they board the ferry to Stone's Throw, traveling to the isolated island for a wedding. Then an immense storm blows in, and the wedding party is left stranded with no way to contact the mainland... and no idea that they have been targeted for revenge by the undead. The only clues to the danger they're in are a scrap of an old Nazi uniform -- and an unfamiliar voice, crying out for help in German... Josie and Eli soon realize there's much more to worry about than guest lists and flowers. It's up to them to uncover the chilling history of Stone's Throw Island and put its ghosts to rest -- or this dream wedding will become an absolute nightmare.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 272 pages
  • 148 x 217 x 26mm | 788g
  • Scholastic Press
  • United States
  • English
  • 0545645565
  • 9780545645560
  • 1,408,229

Review quote

Praise for "The Book of Bad Things " "Ghostly... grotesque... eerie..." -- "Booklist" "Poblocki's return, full of mystery, monsters and ghosts, is sure to satisfy his fans. Old-school, John Saul-style horror." -- "Kirkus Reviews" "Fun and creepy in all the good ways." -- "VOYA" Praise for "The Haunting of Gabriel Ashe" A YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection A Junior Library Guild selection "The social dramas mesh well with the supernatural elements... Poblocki creates a real sense of suspense." -- "Booklist" "Poblocki creates danger by not pulling punches. An atmospheric, creepy ghost story best read at night." -- "Kirkus Reviews" Praise for "The Ghost of Graylock" A YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection A Junior Library Guild selection "Poblocki misses nary a horror-story trope as he propels his cast through one terrifying incident after another to, at last, a climactic flight. Definitely a story to be read by flashlight." -- "Booklist" "Poblocki is in his element with eerie happenings and atmospheric settings. Short chapters with cliff-hanger endings and several twists and turns in the plot will ensure that the pages turn quickly. Give this book to Mary Downing Hahn fans and others who enjoy spine-tingling mysteries." -- "School Library Journal"show more

About Dan Poblocki

Dan Poblocki is the author of "The Stone Child," "The Nightmarys," "The Ghost of Graylock," "The Haunting of Gabriel Ashe," "The Book of Bad Things," and the Mysterious Four series. He lives in Brooklyn with two adorable cats and more books than he has room for. Visit him at www.danpoblocki.com.show more
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X