The House of Secrets
14%
off

The House of Secrets : A beautiful and gripping story of believing in love and second chances

4.09 (1,307 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

'Extremely atmospheric and unputdownable. I loved it' Marian Keyes

What readers are saying about The House of Secrets:

'Libby and Zoe are complex, courageous and believeable and I found their stories absolutely compelling to read with a very satisfying ending'

'I cried, I smiled, I swore in anger at parts . . . such a brilliant piece of writing'

'Enjoyed every page of this lovely book and its lovely heroines Zoe and Libby. Highly recommended for a great feel good read'

'Finished the whole book in one night, literally unputdownable'

An ordinary house on an ordinary street, built in 1936 and never lived in. Its rooms might be empty, but this house is full of secrets.

When Zoe and Win, raw and reeling from a recent tragedy, move into their new home it's meant to be a fresh start and a way to mend the holes in their relationship.

But pushed to the back of a cupboard is a suitcase that's been gathering dust for eighty years. Inside is a wedding dress, letters and a diary all belonging to a woman called Libby. And there's something else in the suitcase, something that echoes Zoe's own pain.

Zoe follows Libby's trail from Paris to Spain on the brink of Civil War to secret trysts in London, and as Libby finds the courage to live and love again, Zoe begins to let go of her own grief.

But when Libby's story takes a darker turn, Zoe becomes increasingly obsessed with discovering what really happened all those years ago. Because if Libby managed to get her happy ever after then maybe Zoe and Win can too . . .

Perfect for fans of Rachel Rhys, Jenny Ashcroft, Santa Montefiore and Kathryn Hughes.

'An engrossing read' Woman & Home

'A wonderful book' Heat

'This beautiful dual love story is a real page-turner' Hello!

'Filled with warmth and great characters' Stylist
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 448 pages
  • 199 x 203 x 30mm | 304g
  • Sphere
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0751561185
  • 9780751561180
  • 85,948

Review quote

Fascinating . . . Such a gripping and unusual story of love and war * Rachel Hore on After the Last Dance * Deeply satisfying and impossible to put down * Santa Montefiore on After the Last Dance * A gripping tale * Pop Sugar * An engrossing tale of love and second chances * Sunday Mirror * Filled with warmth and great characters * Stylist * You'll get lost in this wonderful timeslip tale * Prima * This beautiful dual love story is a real page-turner * Hello! * The House of Secrets is a thoroughly beautiful book. Captivating characters and a hugely engaging story fill both worlds of 1936 and 2016, making it impossible not to be gripped by the stories of Zoe, Win and Libby. Sarra Manning writes with passion and bravery, evoking the past and present with a masterful touch. Breathtakingly good, heart-breakingly real, this book is a must-read. I loved it! * Miranda Dickinson * Beautifully written and completely absorbing; I found it impossible not to fall in love with Zoe and Libby's stories * Cathy Bramley * With themes of love and loss, hidden truths and a fascinating cast, it's a wonderful book * Heat * An engrossing read * Woman & Home * Extremely atmospheric and unputdownable. I loved it * Marian Keyes *
show more

About Sarra Manning

Sarra Manning is an author and journalist. She is currently literary editor for Red magazine and has written for the Guardian, ELLE, Grazia and You magazine. She is the author of bestselling young adult novels, including Guitar Girl, the Diary of a Crush trilogy and Adorkable, and several adult novels. Sarra lives in North London with her Staffordshire bull terrier, Miss Betsy, and prides herself on her unique ability to accessorise.

For all the latest news on Sarra, follow her on Twitter @sarramanning.
show more

Rating details

1,307 ratings
4.09 out of 5 stars
5 40% (520)
4 37% (484)
3 18% (240)
2 3% (39)
1 2% (24)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X