The Heiress Gets A Duke

The Heiress Gets A Duke

3.8 (7,263 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-12 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Even a fortune forged in railroads and steel can't buy entrance into the upper echelons of Victorian high society--for that you need a marriage of convenience.

American heiress August Crenshaw has aspirations. But unlike her peers, it isn't some stuffy British Lord she wants wrapped around her finger--it's Crenshaw Iron Works, the family business. When it's clear that August's outrageously progressive ways render her unsuitable for a respectable match, her parents offer up her younger sister to the highest entitled bidder instead. This simply will not do. August refuses to leave her sister to the mercy of a loveless marriage.

Evan Sterling, the Duke of Rothschild, has no intention of walking away from the marriage. He's recently inherited the title only to find his coffers empty, and with countless lives depending on him, he can't walk away from the fortune a Crenshaw heiress would bring him. But after meeting her fiery sister, he realizes Violet isn't the heiress he wants. He wants August, and he always gets what he wants.

But August won't go peacefully to her fate. She decides to show Rothschild that she's no typical London wallflower. Little does she realize that every stunt she pulls to make him call off the wedding only makes him like her even more.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 106 x 171 x 25.4mm | 158.76g
  • Berkley Publishing Corporation,U.S.
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0593197208
  • 9780593197202
  • 59,499

Review quote

One of Buzzfeed's Best New Books To Add to Your Shelf!

A glittering ballroom romance bursting with the industry and wealth that so define Gilded Age heiresses.--Entertainment Weekly

"A delightfully entertaining read, rich with romance, glamour, and lush Victorian detail. Harper St. George truly captures the spirt of the era."--Mimi Matthews, USA Today bestselling author

The Heiress Gets a Duke is a charming, compulsively readable delight and I can't wait for the next book from Harper St George's magical pen!--Evie Dunmore, USA Today bestselling author

St. George marries classic elements from historical romance greats like Lisa Kleypas and Julia Quinn with subtle winks and nudges about the genre that would appeal to the more experienced romance reader.--Forbes

"A sexy, emotional, romantic tale...Harper St. George is a must-buy for me!"--Terri Brisbin, USA Today bestselling author

Wit, seduction and passion blend seamlessly to create this deeply emotional romance. St. George weaves an intriguing plot with complex characters to provide the perfect sensual escape. There's nothing I didn't love about The Heiress Gets a Duke, especially its lush, captivating glimpse into history.--Anabelle Bryant, USA Today bestselling author

Fun, tender and definitely sexy, The Heiress Gets a Duke is already at the top of my list for the best books of the year. Don't sleep on this refreshing and feminist romance.--BookPage, starred review

A fun, fresh historical romance that gives both formidable characters their due.--Publishers Weekly

Rich with period detail, The Heiress Gets a Duke brings to life the Gilded Age's dollar princesses in this smart, sexy, and oh so satisfying story.--Laurie Benson, award-winning author of The Sommersby Brides series

You'll sigh, you'll cry, and you'll grin yourself silly as this independent and cynical heiress finally gets her duke.--Virginia Heath, author of Beguiled at the Wedding

Fans of Courtney Milan and Scarlett Peckham will enjoy this 'The Gilded Age Heiresses' series opener."--Library Journal
show more

About Harper St. George

Harper St. George was raised in the rural backwoods of Alabama and along the tranquil coast of northwest Florida. It was a setting filled with stories of the old days that instilled in her a love of history, romance, and adventure. By high school, she had discovered the historical romance novel, which combined all of those elements into one perfect package. She has been hooked ever since. She lives in the Atlanta area with her family and loves to hear from readers.
show more

Rating details

7,263 ratings
3.8 out of 5 stars
5 21% (1,536)
4 45% (3,234)
3 28% (2,046)
2 5% (381)
1 1% (66)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X