The Heart of Betrayal
26%
off

The Heart of Betrayal : The Remnant Chronicles: Book Two

4.35 (19,869 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape . . . and even less of being together.Desperate to save her life, Lia's erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komisar that she has a magical gift, and the Komisar's interest in Lia is greater than either Kaden or Lia foresaw.Meanwhile, the foundations of Lia's deeply-held beliefs are crumbling beneath her. Nothing is straightforward: there's Rafe, who lied to her, but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom she always believed to be barbarians but whom she now realizes are people who have been terribly brutalized by the kingdoms of Dalbreck and Morrighan. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her very sense of self, Lia will have to make powerful choices that affect her country, her people . . . and her own destiny.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 473 pages
  • 146 x 210 x 46mm | 459.99g
  • Henry Holt & Company
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0805099247
  • 9780805099249
  • 78,095

Review quote

"Pearson (the Jenna Fox Chronicles) is off to an extraordinary start with her fantasy series, creating an alluring world and romance that's ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore and Megan Whalen Turner." --"Publishers Weekly, "starred review ""The Kiss of Deception "has it all--beautiful writing, heart-pounding suspense, a fiery princess, and an epic romance that'll make you swoon. This is definitely one of my favorite reads of the year!" --Alyson Noel, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of "The Immortals """The Kiss of Deception" is a deeply satisfying, intricately plotted fantasy where no one--"no one"--is quite what they seem. Full of lush writing and rich, complex characters, readers will quickly become enmeshed in the intricate web of lies that have been woven into the very fabric of the kingdom itself. A thoroughly engrossing read--I couldn't put it down!" --Robin LaFevers, "New York Times"-bestselling author of "Grave Mercy "and "Dark Triumph ""This is the kind of story I love--a heart-pounding tale of magic and murder, betrayal and romance set in a richly imagined fantasy landscape." --Cinda Williams Chima, "New York Times"-bestselling author of the Seven Realms and the Heir Chronicles"Times"-bestselling author ofshow more

About Mary E Pearson

Mary E. Pearson is the author of eight novels for teens, including THE KISS OF DECEPTION and the acclaimed Jenna Fox Chronicles. She writes full-time from her home in Carlsbad, California, where she lives with her husband and two dogs.show more
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X