The Happiness Project
9%
off

The Happiness Project : Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun

3.59 (115,049 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"This book made me happy in the first five pages." -AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible

Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is "a cross between the Dalai Lama's The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat, Pray, Love." (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person's year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 106 x 170 x 28mm | 180g
  • United States
  • English
  • 0062105248
  • 9780062105240
  • 1,681

Review Text

"An enlightening, laugh-aloud read. . . . Filled with open, honest glimpses into [Rubin's] real life, woven together with constant doses of humor." Terry Hong, Christian Science Monitor
show more

About Gretchen Rubin

I'm the author of the New York Times bestsellers "The Happiness Project," "Happier at Home" and "Better Than Before." I write about my experiences as I test-drive the wisdom of the ages, current scientific studies, and lessons from popular culture about happiness, habits, and human nature. My next book will hit the shelves in summer 2017: "The Four Tendencies: The Surprising Truth about the Four Hidden Personality Types That Drive Everything We Do."

Find out your Tendency-are you an Upholder, Questioner, Obliger, or Rebel?-when you take the free quiz at GretchenRubin.com.

Subscribe to my award-winning weekly podcast "Happier with Gretchen Rubin" (more than 1 million downloads each month) and hear my sister and I discuss strategies and tips for how to make your daily life happier. I also created an app to help people harness the power of the Four Tendencies. Learn more at BetterApp.us or search the app store for "Better Gretchen Rubin."

My previous books include a bestselling biography of Winston Churchill, "Forty Ways to Look at Winston Churchill," and one of John Kennedy, "Forty Ways to Look at JFK." My first book, "Power Money Fame S..: A User's Guide," is social criticism in the guise of a user's manual. I wrote "Profane Waste" in collaboration with artist Dana Hoey. I've also written three dreadful novels that are safely locked away in a drawer.

Before turning to writing, I had a career in law. A graduate of Yale and Yale Law School, I clerked for Justice Sandra Day O'Connor and was editor-in-chief of the Yale Law Journal. I live in New York City with my husband and two daughters.
show more

Rating details

115,049 ratings
3.59 out of 5 stars
5 22% (25,808)
4 33% (38,443)
3 29% (33,410)
2 11% (12,640)
1 4% (4,748)

Our customer reviews

Well guess what, I wanted to read this book so much, but I read the reviews and now, I will have to wait till it comes out in decent sized print. Publishers please note, consumers vote with their dollars!show more
by Elaine Bradley
I cannot praise this book enough. Witty, insightful and entertaining. I was gripped from the very first page. There are so many lessons to be learnt and so much wisdom in its pages. My only criticism is with this print/edition - as the previous reviewer said, the book is small and the print is absolutely tiny. The font is the smallest I've ever seen. It's a real strain to try and read it. It would be good if Book Depository listed the dimensions of its books or at least noted that this is a "small print" as I would not have bought it if I had known.show more
by Bloodplum
So far this is shaping up to be a great book, however it is ridiculously small. I have 20/20 vision and I am struggling with it, it seems a lot smaller than other paperbacks and you need plenty of light to be able to read it or it looks as though ants have run through ink and run over the page. You really have to concentrate hard. Probably would have spent a bit more and got a bigger copy if I had known.show more
by Claire Castle
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X