The Great Unknowable End
25%
off

The Great Unknowable End

3.69 (153 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

From the author of Tash Hearts Tolstoy comes a funny, moving novel about the lengths we'll go to make dreams our dreams come true that's perfect for fans of Shaun David Hutchinson and Rainbow Rowell. Slater, Kansas, is a small town where not much seems to happen. Stella dreams of being a space engineer. After Stella's mom dies by suicide and her brother runs off to Red Sun, the local hippie commune, Stella is forced to bring her dreams down to earth to care for her sister, Jill. Galliard has only ever known life inside Red Sun. There, people accept his tics, his Tourette's. But when he's denied Red Sun's resident artist role, which he believed he was destined for, he starts to imagine a life beyond the gates of the compound... The day Stella and Galliard meet, there is something in the air in their small town. Literally. So begin weeks of pink lightning, bloodred rain, unexplained storms...And a countdown clock appears mysteriously above the town hall. With time ticking down to some great unknowable end they'll each have to make a choice. If this is really the end of the world, who do they want to be when they face it?
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 400 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 30mm | 472g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • f-c jacket (spfx: soft touch & foil)
  • 1534420509
  • 9781534420502
  • 1,448,849

Review quote

"THE GREAT UNKNOWABLE END is unlike any book I've read. Take a small-town paranormal mystery, drop in a 70s commune, add a dash of haunting familial histories, and a hefty scoop of Science vs. Art, and voila: a book to delight the likes of Carl Sagan himself. Ormsbee's latest is a big-minded, full-hearted treat of a novel."--David Arnold, New York Times bestselling author of The Strange Fascinations of Noah Hypnotik
show more

Rating details

153 ratings
3.69 out of 5 stars
5 22% (33)
4 41% (63)
3 24% (37)
2 11% (17)
1 2% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X