The Great Treehouse War
28%
off

The Great Treehouse War

3.89 (320 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

Kids vs. parents! An epic treehouse sleepover! An awesome group of friends! An exciting new book from National Book Award finalist Lisa Graff. Winnie's last day of fourth grade ended with a pretty life-changing surprise. That was the day Winnie's parents got divorced and decided that Winnie would live three days a week with each of them and spend Wednesdays by herself in a treehouse between their houses, to divide her time perfectly evenly. It was the day Winnie's seed of frustration with her parents was planted, a seed that grew until it felt like it was as big as a tree itself. By the end of fifth grade, Winnie decides that the only way to change things is to barricade herself in her treehouse until her parents come to their senses--and her friends decide to join. It's kids vs. grown-ups, and no one wants to back down first. But with ten kids in one treehouse, all with their own demands, things get pretty complicated! Even if they are having the most epic slumber party ever. In the newest novel by beloved National Book Award finalist Lisa Graff, kids turn the tables on their parents, and all the rules are tossed out the window. But does Winnie have what it takes to hold her ground and keep everyone happy? This story, with a pitch-perfect middle grade voice and a zany yet poignant situation, is perfect for fans of Sharon Creech, Louis Sachar, and Jack Gantos. Praise for Lisa Graff's novels: The Great Treehouse War "It's kids vs. parents in epic fashion...Graff's whimsical, original work is a breath of fresh air."--School Library Journal "Combining over-the-top storytelling with down-home wisdom, this [is] fun."--Booklist "[Graff creates] a vibrant patchwork of personalities that gives voice to the power of friendship."--Publishers Weekly "A good-natured satire of helicopter parenting and a celebration of child ingenuity."--Horn Book Lost in the Sun * "Graff writes with stunning insight...consistently demonstrat[ing] why character-driven novels can live from generation to generation."--Kirkus Reviews, starred review * "Weighty matters deftly handled with humor and grace."--School Library Journal, starred review "This [novel] speaks powerfully, honestly, almost shockingly about our human pain and...redemption. This book will change you."--Gary Schmidt, The Wednesday Wars "Graff crafts a compelling story about a boy touched with tragedy....And like all the best stories, it ends at a new beginning."--Richard Peck, A Year Down Yonder Absolutely Almost * "A perfect book to share with struggling readers."--Booklist, starred review * "Achingly superb."--Kirkus Reviews, starred review * "Graff's...gentle story invokes evergreen themes of coming to appreciate one's strengths (and weaknesses), and stands out for its thoughtful, moving portrait of a boy who learns to keep moving forward."--Publishers Weekly, starred review "The patrons of my school library have been asking, 'Do you have any books like Wonder by R.J. Palacio?' and now I have the perfect offering."--BookPage A Tangle of Knots "A beautiful world of deliciously interconnected stories."--Entertainment Weekly, A- * "Subtle and intricate, rich with humor and insight, this quietly magical adventure delights."--Kirkus Reviews, starred review * "Combining the literary sensibility of E. B. White with the insouciance of Louis Sachar, [this] should satisfy readers for years to come."--Booklist, starred reviewshow more

Product details

  • 8+
  • Hardback | 272 pages
  • 150 x 208 x 28mm | 386g
  • Philomel Books
  • English
  • Illustrations, unspecified
  • 0399175008
  • 9780399175008
  • 414,519

Review quote

Praise for Lisa Graff's novels: The Great Treehouse War "It's kids vs. parents in epic fashion, and Graff's not-quite-fantasy world is every kid's dream....Graff's whimsical, original work is a breath of fresh air. A strong addition to any middle grade collection."--School Library Journal "Combining over-the-top storytelling with down-home wisdom, this appealing chapter book is easyto booktalk and fun to read."--Booklist "In this appealing faux-memoir, [Lisa Graff creates] a vibrant patchwork of personalities that gives voice to the power of friendship."--Publishers Weekly "It's a good-naturedsatire of helicopter parenting and a celebration of child ingenuity, but mostly it'sall about what fun it is to live in a tree."--Horn Book Lost in the Sun * "Graff writes with stunning insight [and] consistently demonstrates why character-driven novels can live from generation to generation."--Kirkus Reviews *STARRED REVIEW* * "Graff creates layered, vulnerable characters that are worth getting to know."--Booklist *STARRED REVIEW* * "[A]n ambitious and gracefully executed story."--Publishers Weekly *STARRED REVIEW* * "Weighty matters deftly handled with humor and grace will give this book wide appeal."--School Library Journal *STARRED REVIEW* * "Characterization is thoughtful."--BCCB *STARRED REVIEW* "This is a novel that speaks powerfully, honestly, almost shockingly about our human pain and our human redemption. This book will change you."--Gary Schmidt, author of The Wednesday Wars "Lisa Graff crafts a compelling story about a boy touched with tragedy and the world of people he cares about. And like all the best stories, it ends at a new beginning."--Richard Peck, author of A Year Down Yonder Absolutely Almost * "Albie comes through significant emotional hardship to a genuine sense of self-worth."--School Library Journal, *STARRED REVIEW* * "A perfect book to share with struggling readers."--Booklist, *STARRED REVIEW* * "Achingly superb, Albie's story shines."--Kirkus Reviews, *STARRED REVIEW* * "Graff's...gentle story invokes evergreen themes of coming to appreciate one's strengths (and weaknesses), and stands out for its thoughtful, moving portrait of a boy who learns to keep moving forward, taking on the world at his own speed."--Publishers Weekly, *STARRED REVIEW* "Lately the patrons of my school library have been asking, "Do you have any books like Wonder by R.J. Palacio?" and now I have the perfect offering."--BookPage "Maybe the wonder of Absolutely Almost is that it's willing to give us an almost unheard of hero."--Betsy Bird, Fuse #8 Blog "Graff...again draws on her ability to create rich lifeworlds for her characters to present a boy who is gifted in many ways....[T]his is a sharp portrait of an outsider's inner perspective, and Albie's coming to terms with himself will be cheered by many."--BCCB Reviews A Clatter of Jars: "Graff is a master of the magical realism genre, and this offering is worthy of a spot in any middle grade collection."--School Library Journal "Graff's vivid character development and world building makes for tight plotting and nicely negotiable complexity. A great fit for fans of Louis Sachar's Holes."--Booklist "Graff's prose and plot construction is as pleasing as ever, and A Clatter of Jars will appeal to a wide range of readers."--Bookpage A Tangle of Knots "Lisa Graff has created a beautiful world of deliciously interconnected stories that draw you in."--Abby West, Entertainment Weekly, A- * "Subtle and intricate, rich with humor and insight, this quietly magical adventure delights."--Kirkus Reviews *STARRED REVIEW* * "Combining the literary sensibility of E. B. White with the insouciance of Louis Sachar, Graff has written a tangle that should satisfy readers for years to come."--Booklist *STARRED REVIEW*show more

About Lisa Graff

Lisa Graff (www.lisagraff.com) is the critically acclaimed and award-winning author of Lost in the Sun, Absolutely Almost, A Tangle of Knots, Double Dog Dare, Sophie Simon Solves Them All, Umbrella Summer, The Life and Crimes of Bernetta Wallflower, and The Thing About Georgie. Lisa Graff's books have been named to more than forty state award lists and have been touted as Best Books of the Year by booksellers, teachers, and librarians. A Tangle of Knots was long-listed for the National Book Award in 2013. Lisa Graff lives with her family just outside of Philadelphia. Follow her on Twitter @LisaGraff.show more

Rating details

320 ratings
3.89 out of 5 stars
5 22% (70)
4 49% (157)
3 26% (83)
2 2% (8)
1 1% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X