The Gradual Disappearance of Jane Ashland
12%
off

The Gradual Disappearance of Jane Ashland

3.66 (227 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Translated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A MOVING AND COMPELLING EMOTIONAL MYSTERY, BY ONE OF THE MOST EXCITING NEW TALENTS IN NORWAY, PERFECT FOR FANS OF ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE, RACHEL CUSK AND IAN MCEWAN


'Insightful... unsentimental... and so believable' -- Dagbladet


An American woman wakes up in a tent in the Norwegian mountains. Outside a storm rages and the fog is dense. Her phone is dead. She is completely alone. Her name is Jane Ashland, and her life has spiralled out of control.


Moving between Jane's past and this extraordinary remote landscape, Nicolai Houm weaves a dramatic trail of suspense through one woman's life - via love, grief, and a devastating accident that changes everything. The Gradual Disappearance of Jane Ashland is a compelling, beautifully-written tale of life at its most glorious, and most terrible.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 192 pages
  • 135 x 216 x 18mm | 226g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1782273778
  • 9781782273776
  • 887,066

About Nicolai Houm

Born in Norway in 1974, Houm is an exciting new talent and critics have described him as 'a Norwegian Don De Lillo' and Norway's 'most American author, in the very best sense'. One critic said the novel as 'combined surgically precise observations with the drive and ingenuity of the best television series'. He has published two novels which were both critically acclaimed in Norway, and this is the first English publication of his work. He works part-time as an editor in publishing house Cappelen Damm, and lives in Lier with his wife and daughter.
show more

Rating details

227 ratings
3.66 out of 5 stars
5 18% (40)
4 44% (101)
3 29% (65)
2 6% (13)
1 4% (8)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X