The Good Hawk (Shadow Skye, Book One)
5%
off

The Good Hawk (Shadow Skye, Book One)

4.02 (490 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Cover design or artwork by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to 288? Click here.

Description

If everything was taken from you, what would you do to get it back?

Agatha patrols the sea wall with pride, despite those in her clan who question her right to be there, because of the condition she was born with.

Jaime is a reluctant Angler, full of self-doubt and afraid of the sea.

When disaster strikes, the pair must embark on a terrifying journey to a land where forgotten magic and dark secrets lurk in every shadow...

Thrilling and dark, yet rich with humour and compassion, this novel marks the debut of a wonderful new voice in fantasy and a welcome new kind of protagonist - perfect for fans of The Girl of Ink and Stars, Garth Nix and Michelle Paver.

NOMINATED FOR THE 2021 CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL

LONGLISTED FOR THE 2020 HIGHLAND BOOK PRIZE

As featured on BBC Radio 2 on Jo Whiley's Storytime.

"A thrilling, strange and brutally involving debut." Guardian

"A story fantasy-loving young readers may not even know they've been waiting for." New York Times

"An exciting new fantasy series set in an ancient mythical Scotland laced with dark magic." The Times

"A wild, thrilling and sometimes dark fantasy adventure." The Week Junior

"A gripping, brutal adventure that completely swept me away." Emma Carroll

"A thrilling adventure in a beautifully imagined world. I defy you not to want to follow Agatha to the end of the known world." Frank Cottrell-Boyce

"A brave new voice in fantasy fiction." Sally Green, author of Half Bad

"I could hardly turn the pages fast enough." Holly Jackson, author of A Good Girl's Guide to Murder

"Darkly beautiful, original and brimming with hope and compassion." Kesia Lupo, author of We Are Blood And Thunder

"A sublimely plotted, windswept adventure." Cerrie Burnell, Children's TV Presenter and author of The Girl with the Shark's Teeth

"This book is a triumph." Katya Balen, author of The Space We're In

"One of the freshest, most exciting fantasies I've ever read." Sarah Ann Juckes, author of Outside

"A proper barnstormer ... This book is a charismatic charmer." SFX

"A page-turner of a book, packing a real punch with its high-level suspense." BookTrust

"Rich in atmosphere while dripping with grisly violence ... A fresh and exciting debut." Kirkus

"The chill barren setting of Scotia provides rich terrain for an unsettling wildness." The Irish Times
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 22mm | 255g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1406385859
  • 9781406385854
  • 243,667

Review Text

With its blend of unusual character development and clever exploration of ancient realms, "The Good Hawk" is a story fantasy-loving young readers may not even know they've been waiting for. Kaitlyn Wells The New York Times
show more

Review quote

With its blend of unusual character development and clever exploration of ancient realms, "The Good Hawk" is a story fantasy-loving young readers may not even know they've been waiting for. -- Kaitlyn Wells * The New York Times * Featured in the Best Children's Books of the Year 2020. * The Times & The Irish Times * The Good Hawk blends ancient myth and doses of spectacularly dark magic with the most likeable - and unlikely - pair of of heroes. A gripping, brutal adventure that completely swept me away. -- Emma Carroll The chill barren setting of Scotia provides rich terrain for an unsettling wildness, which Elliott cleverly lets reign in the closing epilogue, as he pushes the remarkable Agatha's fate - not her clan's - to the forefront. * The Irish Times * The Good Hawk has 368 pages that are filled with a cast of weird and wonderful characters that the reader can engage with, and who have the most incredible adventures. * ReadingZone *
show more

About Joseph Elliott

Joseph Elliott is a writer and actor, well-known for his work in children's television including CBeebies series "Swashbuckle". His commitment to serving children with special education needs was instilled at a young age: his mother is a teacher trained in special needs education, and his parents provided respite foster care for children with additional needs. He has worked at a recreational center for children with learning disabilities and as a teaching assistant at Westminster Special Schools. The heroine of his first book, The Good Hawk, was inspired by the many incredible children he has worked with, especially those with Down's syndrome. Joseph lives in London. Say hello to Joseph on Twitter: @joseph_elliott.
show more

Rating details

490 ratings
4.02 out of 5 stars
5 34% (168)
4 40% (197)
3 20% (97)
2 5% (23)
1 1% (5)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X