The Glass Woman

The Glass Woman

3.71 (5,504 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$15.94

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

'Crackles with tension. Moving and atmospheric, I couldn't put it down' Laura Purcell, author of The Silent Companions and The Corset

A rich and captivating tale of superstition and salvation, love and fear, for fans of The Binding, The Miniaturist and The Silent Companions.

1686, Iceland.

An isolated, windswept land haunted by witch trials and steeped in the ancient sagas . . .
____________

Betrothed unexpectedly to Jon Eiriksson, Rosa is sent to join her new husband in the remote village of Stykkisholmur. Here, the villagers are wary of outsiders.

But Rosa harbours her own suspicions. Her husband buried his first wife alone in the dead of night. He will not speak of it.

The villagers mistrust them both. Dark threats are whispered. There is an evil here - Rosa can feel it. Is it her husband, the villagers - or the land itself?

Alone and far from home, Rosa sees the darkness coming.

She fears she will be its next victim . . .
____________

SHORTLISTED FOR THE HISTORICAL WRITERS ASSOCIATION DEBUT CROWN AWARD

'A fantastic, atmospheric debut' The Times

'An enthralling tale of the Icelandic witch trials' Stacey Halls, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Familiars

'Gripped me in a cold fist. Beautiful' Sara Collins, author of The Confessions of Frannie Langton

'Evocative, compelling, with a brilliant twist' Daily Express

'Memorable and compelling. A novel about what haunts us - and what should' Sarah Moss, author of Ghost Wall

'Intensely written and atmospheric, with an unusual setting, this is a stark evocation of a community where fear of the outsider is rife and unsettling' Daily Mail
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 400 pages
  • 138 x 222 x 40mm | 511g
  • Michael Joseph Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 9780718188979
  • 256,566

Review Text

A fantastic, atmospheric debut The Times
show more

Review quote

A fantastic, atmospheric debut * The Times * The eerie opening brilliantly sets the scene for a suspenseful read. A tremor cracks open an ice floe and an arm appears, plunging the reader into a harsh landscape and a world of suspicions and secrets * Sunday Express * A perfect, gripping winter read. I loved it * Sophie Mackintosh, Man Booker longlisted author of 'The Water Cure' * Memorable and compelling. A novel about what haunts us - and what should * Sarah Moss, author of The Times Book of the Year 'Ghost Wall' * This evocative debut is compelling with a brilliant twist * Daily Express * Compelling, atmospheric * The Times * A chilling tale * Good Housekeeping * Intensely written and atmospheric, with an unusual setting, this is a stark evocation of a community where fear of the outsider is rife and unsettling * Daily Mail * An enthralling tale of the Icelandic witch trials * Stacey Halls, bestselling author of THE FAMILIARS * Crackles with tension. Moving and atmospheric, I couldn't put it down * Laura Purcell, author of THE SILENT COMPANIONS and THE CORSET * Gripped me in a cold fist. Beautiful * Sara Collins, author of THE CONFESSIONS OF FRANNIE LANGTON * A gothic novel for a cold climate. Mesmerising * Elly Griffiths, author of THE STRANGER DIARIES * Utterly unputdownable. Rich in superstition and mystery, it pulled me in. An incredible novel * Ali Land, author of Sunday Times Bestselling 'Good Me Bad Me' * Haunting, evocative and utterly compelling. The beautifully drawn narrative transports the reader to a time and place steeped in mystery and superstition, where nothing is ever quite as it seems. Stunning * Tracy Borman, author of 'The King's Witch' * Like a ghost story told around a winter fire, The Glass Woman is taut, haunting, and broodingly tense. Playing out against the harsh backdrop of the Icelandic winter, it kept me hooked all the way to the end * Tim Leach, author of The Times Book of the Year 'Smile of the Wolf' * Tremendous. Atmospheric and beautifully wrought, The Glass Woman is both chilling and beguiling * Elizabeth Fremantle * Is this some Icelandic version of Jane Eyre in which a madwoman lurks in the attic? Or do ghosts haunt the household? In a sense they do, although the truth Rosa eventually uncovers in this compelling, atmospheric novel are more material and more disturbing than her imaginings * Sunday Times * Lea draws upon Jane Eyre, Rebecca and Bluebeard to create an eerie, unsettling atmosphere ... Full of promise, and I look forward to reading more from Lea * Daily Telegraph * Suspenseful, gripping and beautifully drawn * Cecilia Ekback, author of 'Wolf Winter' * Eerie and atmospheric * Daily Telegraph * Tells the tale of the Icelandic witch trials * Red * A tense, Iceland-set thriller * Sunday Post * A gorgeous book about the power of stories that makes the landscape of Iceland as powerful a character as any of the humans * Sarah Shaffi, PHOENIX * A haunting novel that delivers chills. THE GLASS WOMAN is charged with the dark energy of the Icelandic Sagas * Kirkus Reviews * Mystery and potential danger linger throughout, and with its dreamy prose THE GLASS WOMAN satisfies readers with the ways of an old world * Publisher's Weekly * A chilling and enthralling telling of the Icelandic witch trials. Not only beautifully drawn but poignant, evocative and fascinating. A haunting gothic tale' * Historia * A rare look at male witch trials, set in Iceland * Guardian * Haunting, evocative and utterly compelling. The beautifully drawn narrative transports the reader to a time and place steeped in mystery and superstition, where nothing is ever quite as it seems. Stunning -- Tracy Borman, author of 'The King's Witch' Memorable and compelling. A novel about what haunts us - and what should -- Sarah Moss, author of The Times Book of the Year 'Ghost Wall' Suspenseful, gripping and beautifully drawn -- Cecilia Ekback, author of 'Wolf Winter' A perfect, gripping winter read. I loved it -- Sophie Mackintosh, Man Booker longlisted author of 'The Water Cure' Like a ghost story told around a winter fire, The Glass Woman is taut, haunting, and broodingly tense. Playing out against the harsh backdrop of the Icelandic winter, it kept me hooked all the way to the end -- Tim Leach, author of The Times Book of the Year 'Smile of the Wolf' Tremendous. Atmospheric and beautifully wrought, The Glass Woman is both chilling and beguiling -- Elizbabeth Fremantle Utterly unputdownable. Rich in superstition and mystery, it pulled me in. An incredible novel -- Ali Land, author of Sunday Times Bestselling 'Good Me Bad Me' Evocative and beautifully written, with a creeping tension -- Harriet Tyce, author of 'Blood Orange' Deeply eerie and compulsive -- Kate Riordan, author of 'The Stranger' Is this some Icelandic version of Jane Eyre in which a madwoman lurks in the attic? Or do ghosts haunt the household? In a sense they do, although the truth Rosa eventually uncovers in this compelling, atmospheric novel are more material and more disturbing than her imaginings * Sunday Times *
show more

About Caroline Lea

Caroline Lea grew up on the island of Jersey and gained a First from Warwick University. Her fiction and poetry have been shortlisted for the Bridport Prize. Her debut novel, The Glass Woman, a gothic thriller set during the Icelandic witch trials, was shortlisted for the HWA Debut Crown Award. Her next novel, The Metal Heart, was a powerful Second World War love story set on the island of Orkney.
show more

Rating details

5,504 ratings
3.71 out of 5 stars
5 21% (1,134)
4 41% (2,268)
3 29% (1,588)
2 7% (397)
1 2% (117)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X