The Glass Republic
10%
off

The Glass Republic : The Skyscraper Throne Book 2

4.02 (377 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

'Marks the appearance of a powerful new imagination in SF' Guardian

In the gripping sequel to The City's Son, Pen returns to London-Under-Glass when her mirror sister - and biggest secret - is abducted. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere.

Pen's life is all about secrets: the secret of the city's spirits, deities and monsters that live just beyond notice, the secret of how she got the intricate scars that disfigure her so cruelly - and the most closely guarded secret of all: Parva, her mirror-sister, forged from her reflection in a school bathroom mirror and the only person who really understands her.

When Parva is abducted, Pen is forced to make a terrible bargain for the means to track her down, for in London-Under-Glass, looks are currency, and Pen's scars make her a rare and valuable commodity. Kept company by the pretty and fierce steeplejill, Espel, Pen isn't completely alone, but some in the reflected city will do anything to keep her from the secret of what happened to the sister who shared her face.

The Glass Republic is the gripping sequel to The City's Son, and the second book of The Skyscraper Throne trilogy.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 448 pages
  • 147 x 197 x 30mm | 298g
  • Jo Fletcher Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1780870132
  • 9781780870137
  • 444,295

Review quote

The Glass Republic is even better. Building successfully on the promise shown by its predecessor, it's just great from beginning to end * The Eloquent Page * Five stars isn't enough ... This series has so far been a stellar example of what good YA, and good urban fantasy, should be * Over the Effing Rainbow * Manages to push the boundaries of imagination and innovation with every page. Beautifully written, wildly imaginative and surprisingly emotional, The Glass Republic continues an exciting new phase in urban fantasy that's being powered by one author alone * Fantasy Book Review * Pollock's immersive world is easy to get into and once there, you just don't want to leave . . . An excellent novel which reinvigorates urban fantasy as a genre * Upcoming4.me * Gorgeously written and brimming with bizarre urban creatures, this darkly imagined and sometimes painful tale should delight fans of Neil Gaiman, China Mieville, and Holly Black * Publishers Weekly, Starred Review on The City's Son * Vivid, inventive - and truly weird * Daily Mail on The City's Son * A impeccably dark parable, endlessly inventive and utterly compelling * Mike Carey, author of The Girl with all the Gifts on The City's Son * One of speculative fiction's most promising new voices - it's such an unfettered success that the concluding volume of the Skyscraper Throne saga can't come soon enough * Tor.com * Hugely inventive in his world-building . . . following in the tradition of authors like Neil Gaiman and China Mieville * SFX on The City's Son * A powerful new imagination in SF * Guardian on The City's Son *
show more

About Tom Pollock

Tom Pollock is a graduate of the Sussex University Creative Writing Programme, and a member of the London-based writers' group The T-Party. He has lived everywhere from Scotland to Sumatra, but the peculiar magic of London has always drawn him back.
show more

Rating details

377 ratings
4.02 out of 5 stars
5 35% (132)
4 40% (152)
3 19% (71)
2 4% (15)
1 2% (7)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X