The Girl From Everywhere
19%
off

The Girl From Everywhere

3.7 (5,681 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

It was the kind of August day that hinted at monsoons, and the year was 1774, though not for very much longer. Sixteen-year-old Nix Song is a time-traveller. She, her father and their crew of time refugees travel the world aboard The Temptation, a glorious pirate ship stuffed with treasures both typical and mythical. Old maps allow Nix and her father to navigate not just to distant lands, but distant times - although a map will only take you somewhere once. And Nix's father is only interested in one time, and one place: Honolulu 1868. A time before Nix was born, and her mother was alive. Something that puts Nix's existence rather dangerously in question . . . Nix has grown used to her father's obsession, but only because she's convinced it can't work. But then a map falls into her father's lap that changes everything. And when Nix refuses to help, her father threatens to maroon Kashmir, her only friend (and perhaps, only love) in a time where Nix will never be able to find him. And if Nix has learned one thing, it's that losing the person you love is a torment that no one can withstand. Nix must work out what she wants, who she is, and where she really belongs before time runs out on her forever.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 128 x 199 x 23mm | 293g
  • Hot Key Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1471405109
  • 9781471405105
  • 23,829

About Heidi Heilig

Heidi grew up in Hawaii where she rode horses and raised peacocks, and then she moved to New York City and grew up even more, as one tends to do. Her favorite thing, outside of writing, is travel, and she has haggled for rugs in Morocco, hiked the trails of the Ko'olau Valley, and huddled in a tent in Africa while lions roared in the dark. She holds an MFA from New York University in Musical Theatre Writing, of all things, and she's written books and lyrics for shows including The Time Travelers Convention, Under Construction, and The Hole. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband, her son, and their pet snake, whose wings will likely grow in any day now. Follow Heidi at www.heidiheilig.com or on Twitter: @heidiheiligshow more

Review quote

[A] skillful mashup of science fiction and eclectic mythology, enlivened by vivid sensory detail and moments of emotional and philosophical depth that briefly resonate before dissolving into the next swashbuckling adventure. A nonstop time-travel romp. * Kirkus * This must-have fantasy adventure will appeal to fans of Rick Riordan's Kane Chronicles and Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner's Starbound trilogy * School Library Journal * One of my absolute favourite reads of 2016, Heidi Heilig's debut captured me completely from the first page. A lushly written time-traveling adventure with an imaginative magical twist, real heart and real heartbreak, and a major dash of swoon -- Alwyn Hamilton, author of Rebel of the Sands This beautifully written story full of love, magic, mystery and heartbreak will captivate the heart and mind of any reader * Inis Reading Guide * The Girl from Everywhere is a stand-out in a year that loved a good time-travel story. (And side note: could I be more obsessed with the cover?) (...) Heidi Heilig's twist of including mythical and legendary places to her lush time-traveling family adventure story is a game-changer, allowing for a collision of ancient stories and real-life history in a way that separates the novel from the rest * Bustle.com *show more

Rating details

5,681 ratings
3.7 out of 5 stars
5 23% (1,280)
4 37% (2,123)
3 30% (1,688)
2 9% (485)
1 2% (105)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X