The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue
30%
off

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue

4.22 (11,254 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

A hilarious and swashbuckling teen historical fiction novel, named one of summer's 20 must-read books by Entertainment Weekly! A New York Times bestseller! A young bisexual British lord embarks on an unforgettable Grand Tour of Europe with his best friend/secret crush. An 18th-century romantic adventure for the modern age written by This Monstrous Thing author Mackenzi Lee-Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda meets the 1700s.Henry "Monty" Montague doesn't care that his roguish passions are far from suitable for the gentleman he was born to be. But as Monty embarks on his grand tour of Europe, his quests for pleasure and vice are in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family's estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.So Monty vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty's reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.Witty, dazzling, and intriguing at every turn, The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue is an irresistible romp that explores the undeniably fine lines between friendship and love.5 starred reviews and #1 pick on the summer 2017 Kids' Indie Next List!show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 528 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 40mm | 573g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • KATHERINE TEGEN BOOKS
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062382802
  • 9780062382801
  • 303

Review quote

â "The book's exquisite, bygone meter and vernacular sit comfortably on a contemporary shelf. And the friction of racism, tyrannical entitled politicians, and misguided disapproval of homosexuality also have a relevance rooted in current culture's xeno- and homophobia. Austen, Wilde, and Indiana Jones converge in this deliciously anachronistic bonbon." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review) â "Tongue-in-cheek, wildly entertaining, and anachronistic in only the most delightful ways, this is a gleeful romp through history. Monty is a hero worthy of Oscar Wilde." -- Booklist (starred review) â "This is a witty, romantic, and exceedingly smart look at discovering one's place in the world. A stunning powerhouse of a story for every collection." -- School Library Journal (starred review) â "A gloriously swashbuckling affair." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) â Mackenzi Lee (This Monstrous Thing) combines her knowledge of European history with a contemporary, comic sensibility to create an over-the-top romantic adventure complete with cliff-hanging chapter endings and sometimes outrageous narration. Monty is a licentious, flawed and engaging 18th-century hero. -- Shelf Awareness (starred review) "Monty is pitch-perfect as a yearning, self-destructive, oblivious jerk of a hero who inspires equal parts sympathy, frustration, and adoration from reader. A genre tribute, satire, and exemplar in one." -- The Horn Book "Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue is the queer teen historical you didn't know was missing from your life." ("Best Queer Books to Celebrate Pride 2017") -- Teen Vogue "A rollicking ride that also turns a keen eye to issues like class, racism, homosexuality, and identity." -- Brightly.com "Careening from fete to fiasco on a Grand Tour of 18th century Europe, THE GENTLEMEN'S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE is a dizzying, dazzling, and roguishly romantic romp. This book makes me want to unrequite my own love so I can requite him all over again." -- Heidi Heilig, author of THE GIRL FROM EVERYWHERE "Don't read this book unless you like adventure, hijinks, and forbidden romance, and if you do, then read it twice." -- Stacey Lee, author of THE SECRET OF A HEART NOTE and UNDER A PAINTED SKY "An outrageously fun, witty, fascinating, and romantic adventure, starring a memorable trio I'd happily travel with for ages. Lee is a definite force in diverse historical YA." -- Dahlia Adler, founder of LGBTQ Reads and author of UNDER THE LIGHTS "The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue is a Grand Tour all its own. Hilarious and romantic, adventurous and scandalous, Monty's adventures are just as delightful as Monty himself. I adored this book!" -- Rachel Hawkins, author of the Rebel Belle series "Sweet, smart, and powerful, Gentleman's Guide tackles timely topics that will resonate profoundly with readers--all wrapped up in a truly epic road trip. Prepare to laugh, gasp, swoon, and cheer." -- Claire Legrand, author of the Winterspell series "A delightful romp of a road-trip through eighteenth century Europe, packed with witty dialog, razor-sharp pacing, and the perfect amount of swoon. You should abso-bloody-lutely read this book." -- Erin Bowman, author of VENGEANCE ROAD "Vice has never been more charming and virtue never more daring than in Mackenzie Lee's superbly written globetrotting adventure. Not since Hamilton the musical has the 18th century been this much fun." -- Amy Cherrix, Malaprop's Bookstore "An incomparably delightful historical romp. I was swept away by Monty's incorrigible voice from the very first page, and the rest of this confident adventure tale did not disappoint. Lee's sophomore novel has heart, depth, and an abundance of wisecracks from a protagonist you can't help but adore." -- Rebecca Wells, Porter Square Books "Simultaneously harrowing and hilarious, everything about this book from the serious questions posed about sexuality, chronic illness, and social inequality to the extraordinary journey Monty, his best friend, and his sister find themselves on make Mackenzi Lee's latest the kind of book you'd be a fool to miss." -- Gaby Salpeter, Books of Wonder "Monty and Percy are insanely shippable from page one, and quickly became one of my favorite YA couples of all time." -- Rachel Strolle, Anderson's Bookshop "The John Hughes of queer 18th century adventure novels with an alchemical heart at its center. Lee perfectly captures teen humor and angst. I can't wait to see what she writes next!" -- Alsace Walentine, Tombolo Books "I can't wait to get this book in my store-I know my customers looking for historical fiction and LGBTQ stories will adore GENTLEMAN'S GUIDE as much as I have!" -- Clarissa Hadge, Trident Booksellers "Filled with highwaymen, pirates, and heart pounding exploits of a romantic nature, this is the summer road-trip adventure you've been waiting for." -- Marika McCoola, Porter Square Books "With roguish charm, sly wit, and tender heart, THE GENTLEMAN'S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE is a shameless flirt of a novel. If Monty and Percy hadn't already stolen my heart, I would surrender it to them gladly." -- Wendy Darling, The Midnight Garden "Wonderfully refreshing. A delightful, thoughtful, hilarious read." -- Maggie Kane, Between the Covers "An adventurous romp through 18th-century Europe with a trio of unforgettable characters. Lee weaves together the fun and the fantastical with a conversation on historical privilege that will resonate with modern readers. Perfect for fans of LA Meyer's Bloody Jack series. Expect to fall in love with this book!" -- Nicole Brinkley, Oblong Books An elegant, colorful, swashbuckling good time of a read and a beautiful addition to the LGBTQ+ genre. This is a great novel for upper YA readers and a great adult cross-over title. I definitely have a book hangover after finishing this gem. -- Amanda Zirn, Bethany Beach Books "A Marauder's Map of the heart, full of pirates, highwaymen, humor and romance. Mischief managed brilliantly!" -- Chris Abouzeid, Co-Owner, Belmont Booksshow more

Back cover copy

Henry "Monty" Montague was born and bred to be a gentleman, but he was never one to be tamed. The finest boarding schools in England and the constant disapproval of his father haven't been able to curb any of his roguish passions--not for gambling halls, late nights spent with a bottle of spirits, or waking up in the arms of women or men. But as Monty embarks on his Grand Tour of Europe, his quest for a life filled with pleasure and vice is in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family's estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy. Still, it isn't in Monty's nature to give up. Even with his younger sister, Felicity, in tow, he vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty's reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt that spans across Europe, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.show more

About Mackenzi Lee

Mackenzi Lee earned a BA in history (in the middle of which she took her own Grand Tour of Europe) and an MFA from Simmons College in writing for children and young adults. She loves Diet Coke, sweater weather, and Star Wars. On a perfect day, she can be found enjoying all three. You can spot her on Twitter @themackenzilee, where she curates a weekly story time about badass women from history you probably don't know about but should. She currently calls Boston home. www.mackenzilee.comshow more

Rating details

11,254 ratings
4.22 out of 5 stars
5 44% (4,974)
4 39% (4,343)
3 14% (1,540)
2 3% (297)
1 1% (100)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X