The Garden of Fragile Things

The Garden of Fragile Things

3.85 (21 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

"You won't want to put it down - and you probably won't either until there are no more pages to turn." Thomas E. Kennedy, author of In the Company of Angels, Falling Sideways, and Kerrigan in Copenhagen "A dark fantasy bildungsroman in the tradition of Stephen King's It and Robert McCammon's Boy's Life" In the late 1970s, Joe Godwin was just twelve years old, living in a working-class neighborhood. Plagued by bullies and a volatile home life, Joe spends his time with his three friends in search of adventure. The discovery of an abandoned mansion during a simple camping trip in a state forest sets of a series of consequences in motion between the boys, inhabitants of the mansion, and the others who occupy the garden behind the colossal home. The Garden of Fragile Things is a literary dark tale that chronicles four boys' coming of age against paranormal forces that operate between two worlds. "From the first paragraphs, The Garden of Fragile Things holds you in its charm. Anyone who is young, anyone who can or wants to remember the mystery, enchantment, and fragility of youth will enjoy the rich mystery of O'Brien's Garden of Fragile Things." Thomas E. Kennedy, author of In the Company of Angels, Falling Sideways, and Kerrigan in Copenhagen(A New York Times Notable Book). Buy now and get a free Kindle book with paperback via Kindle Matchbook!show more

Product details

  • Paperback
  • 133 x 203 x 14mm | 272g
  • Dark Alley Press
  • English
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 0692393226
  • 9780692393222

About Richard J O'Brien

Richard J. O'Brien was born in Camden, N.J. He served in the army, attended Rutgers University, and worked a variety of jobs before attending graduate school. In 2012, he received his MFA in Creative Writing from Fairleigh Dickinson University. Currently, the author lives in Pennsylvania and teaches English composition at Mercer County Community College, Rowan College at Gloucester County, and others. Visit him at www.obrienwriter.com.show more

Rating details

21 ratings
3.85 out of 5 stars
5 33% (7)
4 29% (6)
3 29% (6)
2 10% (2)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X