The First Third

The First Third

4.01 (1,136 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 12-16 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

A painfully funny yet poignant contemporary Australian story for young adults, The First Third is the witty sophomore novel from Will Kostakis, sure to appeal to fans of Nick Earls and Melina Marchetta.

Life is made up of three parts- in The First Third, you're embarrassed by your family; in the second, you make a family of your own; and in the end, you just embarrass the family you've made.

That's how Billy's grandmother explains it, anyway. She's given him her bucket list (cue embarrassment), and now, it's his job to glue their family back together.

No pressure or anything.

Fixing his family's not going to be easy and Billy's not ready for change. But as he soon discovers, the first third has to end some time. And then what?

It's a Greek tragedy waiting to happen.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 256 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 17mm | 187g
  • Hawthorn, Australia
  • English
  • 0143568175
  • 9780143568179
  • 133,760

About Will Kostakis

Personally, Will Kostakis is ready to catch a ball two seconds after it's hit him in the face. Professionally, he's thankful he's chosen a career that requires little (if any) coordination. After dabbling in celebrity journalism and reality TV, he now writes for young adults.

His first novel, Loathing Lola, was released when he was just nineteen, and his second, The First Third, won the 2014 Gold Inky Award. It was also shortlisted for the Children's Book Council of Australia Book of the Year and Prime Minister's Literary awards.

The Sidekicks is his third novel for young adults.
show more

Rating details

1,136 ratings
4.01 out of 5 stars
5 35% (400)
4 38% (433)
3 21% (238)
2 4% (46)
1 2% (19)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X