The Fall Of Lisa Bellow

The Fall Of Lisa Bellow

3.21 (1,381 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from Australia in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

WHAT HAPPENS TO THE GIRL LEFT BEHIND? A masked man with a gun enters a sandwich shop in broad daylight, and Meredith Oliver suddenly finds herself ordered to the filthy floor, where she cowers face to face with her nemesis, Lisa Bellow, the most popular girl in her eighth grade class. The minutes tick inexorably by, and Meredith lurches between comforting the sobbing Lisa and imagining her own impending death. Then the man orders Lisa Bellow to stand and come with him, leaving Meredith behind. After Lisa's abduction, Meredith spends most days in her room. As the community stages vigils and searches, Claire, Meredith's mother, is torn between relief that her daughter is alive and helplessness over her inability to protect or even comfort her child. Her daughter is here, but not. How can life ever move forward again?The Fall of Lisa Bellow is edgy and original, a hair-raising exploration of the ripple effects of an unthinkable crime, for readers who enjoyed Everything I Never Told You and Room.Praise for Susan Perabo's short stories: `Explores the very human question - in surprising and original ways - of what it really means to be afraid' Elizabeth Strout, bestselling author of My Name is LucyBarton on The Broken Places `Darkly beautiful stories about love and loss and every gradation between. Each one is suffused with astonishing wit and tenderness. Well worth the wait!' Jenny Offill, New York Times bestselling author of Dept. of Speculation on Who I Was Supposed to Be `There's only one way to read Susan Perabo, and that's breathlessly. Each story in Who I Was Supposed to Be crackles with narrative electricity, and every one made me want to stand and cheer' Richard Russoshow more

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 153 x 234 x 21mm
  • Simon & Schuster Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Export
  • 1471163415
  • 9781471163418
  • 417,015

About Susan Perabo

Susan Perabo is the author of the collections of short stories, Who I Was Supposed to Be and Why They Run the Way They Do, and the novels The Broken Places and The Fall of Lisa Bellow. Her fiction has been anthologized in Best American Short Stories, Pushcart Prize Stories, and New Stories from the South, and has appeared in numerous magazines, including One Story, Glimmer Train, The Iowa Review, The Missouri Review, and The Sun. She is Writer in Residence and professor of English at Dickinson College in Carlisle, Pennsylvania, and on the faculty of the low-residency MFA Program at Queens University. She holds an MFA from the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville.show more

Rating details

1,381 ratings
3.21 out of 5 stars
5 9% (119)
4 30% (414)
3 40% (558)
2 17% (231)
1 4% (59)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X