The Escape

The Escape

4.03 (98 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Read by 

List price: US$20.00

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

Description

A compelling wartime drama for fans of Lucinda Riley, Rachel Hore and Katherine Webb Detta works as a translator for a Nazi-run labour camp for French workers. One winter morning in early 1945, Detta passes a group of exhausted British prisoners of war who are being force-marched westwards. The following day she receives an urgent message to contact the local priest. He is harbouring a group of escaped British prisoners of war in the manse: can she help? London, 1989. Miranda is a 19-year old photography student in London, in thrall to her older boyfriend, a journalist called Quill. In November the fall of the Berlin Wall is all over the news. Quill asks Miranda to come with him to Germany: before they leave, Miranda's grandmother gives her an old postcard of the village she was born in. Miranda hopes that working together in Berlin will help cement the cracks in her relationship with Quill, but one night his behaviour spills over into violence, and Miranda ends up fleeing through the rubble of the Berlin wall and into the East. As she travels further, she begins to suspect she's being followed by the Stasi. If she goes on, she worries that she'll be taken into custody and be accused of spying; if she turns back, it means returning to Quill. At last her grandmother's photograph offers the solution. She tells people that she is going to find her family in the East. The Catholic church, and the manse, opposite where her grandmother once lived, are still standing. And the secrets of the past begin to be revealed.
show more

Product details

  • Simon & Schuster UK
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Unabridged
  • Unabridged
  • 1471176282
  • 9781471176289

Review quote

'Yet another gripping, moving and impeccably researched read'--Jill Mansell, author of This Could Change Everything
show more

Rating details

98 ratings
4.03 out of 5 stars
5 34% (33)
4 41% (40)
3 21% (21)
2 3% (3)
1 1% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X